Subject Guides: TESOL: Articles

Databases for Language, Linguistics & TESOL

Recommended Databases for Linguistics

Linguistics/Language Behavior Abstracts -- LLBA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window 1973+ Indexes and abstracts articles from 2,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals in language use, linguistics, and related disciplines. Updated twice a year.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations about literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
Bibliography of Linguistic Literature This link opens in a new window BLLDB is the online version of the Bibliography of Linguistic Literature (BLL). It is one of the most important sources of bibliographical information for general as well as English, German and Romance linguistics. Years of coverage run from 1971 to the present, making this a good complement to Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA).

Recommended Databases for Language Teaching & TESOL

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window 1967+ ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Resource Information Center databases, contains indexing and abstracts from thousands of research and technical reports in the Resources In Education Index (RIE) and from more than 750 education and education-related journals in the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). In addition, selected full text articles are available for thousands of ERIC digest records. Updated quarterly.
Linguistics/Language Behavior Abstracts -- LLBA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window 1973+ Indexes and abstracts articles from 2,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals in language use, linguistics, and related disciplines. Updated twice a year.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.

Linguistics Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies: Linguistics This link opens in a new window Oxford Bibliographies in Linguistics is organized around discrete linguistic subject entries, combining expert commentary with resource listings. OBO also provides direct links to holdings in the BYU online catalog and other online repositories.

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window A citation index for the Arts & Humanities. Database coverage includes the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 to the present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. By logging into Google Scholar from off-campus, the library holdings will be integrated into your search results allowing you to quickly find the full-text of scholarly materials.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This ProQuest database provides full text of more than 700 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title.

Database Search Tips (MIT Libraries)

Database search tips and tricks include Boolean operators, truncation, keywords, subjects, fields, phrases and stop words. Quick tab-by-tab reference from MIT.

Journal Information

Find publication or subscription information about specific journals or periodicals.

MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1970+ Lists over 3700 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics and folklore, supplying addresses, publication information and guidelines for submission. Updated annually.
Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window Online version of Ulrich's Periodical Directory. Provides publication & subscription information, indexing and abstracting information, article submission & advertising guidelines, addresses, etc.

Adam Griggs

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

5523 HBLL

801-422-1562

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

RefWorks

You can easily input (and format) journal articles, books, websites, and other resources for your paper !

Use

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that helps you collect and organize citations and access them from any computer with a Web connection.

RefWorks will even take your list and generate a bibliography of references, using APA, MLA, or any other format you select.

When gathering records from other databases, look for instructions for how to directly export your records to RefWorks.