Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visual Arts Databases | Start Here
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes abstracts of articles covering visual arts in the 20th century to present. Coverage is from 1974 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
More Databases & Indexes
Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window1973+ Indexes and abstracts information in design, design-related and photography journals. Includes articles, news items, conference and seminar reports, book reviews, videos, films, exhibitions and illustration. Also includes links to design sites on the Internet. Updated quarterly.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
Nineteenth Century Photography (Gale) This link opens in a new windowPhotography: The World Through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically-illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe. Some images are well-known while many have rarely been viewed. The 19th century was about family and society, invention and scientific discovery, exploration and colonization, urban versus rural life, work, leisure and travel all this is captured in photographs. In Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO).
Communications & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. Offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources.
Create and format your own bibliography of articles, books, etc. Import references from databases and use the style guide of your choice! Step-by-Step Guide