ScholarsArchive is Brigham Young University’s institutional repository for the scholarly and creative content produced by the University. ScholarsArchive makes research, publications, data, and journals produced by BYU faculty and students available to a global research audience.

An open-access repository where users can "store, share, publish, and find research data". Contains "26 million datasets from domain-specific and cross-domain repositories". Free registration with email is required for use.

Offers access to millions of datasets and the ability to share and cite your data. They are a large provider of DOIs for research data.

A large and broad collection of organized data offering publishing or claiming of content.

Access to searchable datasets and DOI publishing. Offers the ability to publish within a group so that data is only accessible to group members.

Hosted dedicated repositories available for purchase. Large repository of searchable datasets.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a data archive of over 250,000 files in the social and behavioral sciences. Often used to publish scientific data.

The largest repository of datasets there is, Data Planet offers billions of datasets on a wide range of topics. It includes advanced analyzation tools and datasets that are downloadable to a wide range of formats.

To enhance transparency and provide an open source for public data, the US Government is continually improving and enlarging this repository which currently holds over 200,000 datasets. Data is collected from fields of Agriculture, Climate, Energy, Local Government, Maritime, Ocean, & Older Adults Health.

A wide range of open data provided by the UK government on British Citizens and Government.

A wide range of open data and datasets collected by the Canadian government.

The US Census Bureau offers open source datasets on census information, government spending, and APIs.

A large database of us data organized in an ergonomically appealing way. User tools help to compare and interface with the data. The sites stated purpose is to “to understand and visualize the critical issues facing the United States in areas like jobs, skills and education across industry and geography. And, to use this knowledge to inform decision making among executives, policymakers and citizens.”

The U.S. Energy Information Administration provides data on energy usage and production.

New York City bike share gives some detailed datasets about shared bikes in NYC.

The Electoral Commission of Great Britain offers datasets on election results.

New York City offers datasets on their open portal on many facets of life in the big city.

This site contains over 4500 healthcare datasets spanning over 100 years in the United States.

The United Kingdom’s National Health Service (NHS) provides medical datasets on a variety of topics.

The United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF) works to improve the situation of mothers and children worldwide. This site provides datasets about women children worldwide.

The World Health Organization offers datasets on world health and hunger.

The Broad Institute offers cancer related datasets.

California Health Interview Survey (CHIS) offers data files on a wide range of topics taken from surveys of California residents.

Project Data Sphere collects and shares data regarding cancer research. Free registration with the website is required for access.

The Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) offers access to a large repository of health-related data

Amazon offers datasets of the Human Microbiome Project.

A repository of social, economic, and health data from around the world.

Amazon’s provides an extensive open source data repository for a variety of subjects spanning from science and health to music and business.

Project Tycho was funded through the Gates Foundation as an attempt to make health data more accessible.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive is an open-access database made available from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Datasets can be accessed in the following formats: ASCII, SAS, SPSS, Stata, R, and TSV.

The United Nations has made available data regarding imports and exports of countries.

A great resource provided by the world bank. It gives access to data involving world poverty, finances, living standards, etc.

Historical and current stock market data.

Google Public Data Explorer provides a wide range of world data and economic data.

Historical and current financial data provided by Google. Includes stocks & EFTs.

UC Irvine maintains a repository of over 500 datasets for the machine learning community.

Nasdaq offers data resources for investment professionals. Its users include hedge fund managers, investment banks, and asset managers.

A baseball archive database by Sean Lahman.

Baseball statistics database.

A very comprehensive and detailed database of NBA statistics.

Pro Football Statistics

Hockey Statistics

Open repository of sports data

Sport Radar is an incredibly large subscription based repository of detailed sports statistics. You can gain limited access to the site by registering for a free trial access key.

From this site: "An application that lets you search MLB.com's Statcast database. It includes metrics such as Perceived Velocity (PV), Spin Rate (SR), Exit Velocity (EV), Hit Distance (DST), Launch Angle (LA), Batted Ball Direction (BBD), xBA, xSLG, xwOBA, and Quality of Contact."

Facebook’s Graph API provides a way for users to interact with the vast amount of information that is collected by Facebook.

Available upon request for research purposes only, a database of 15.5 billion http requests is hosted by the University of Indiana Bloomingham.

Including trillions of data points, GDELT boasts being “ the largest, most comprehensive, and highest resolution open database of human society ever created. Creating a platform that monitors the world's news media from nearly every corner of every country in print, broadcast, and web formats in over 100 languages, every moment of every day and that stretches back to January 1, 1979 through present day, with daily updates”.

Stanford’s Large Network Dataset Collection contains datasets focused on social networks.

Pew Research Center offers datasets originating from social surveys of American citizens. Free registration with the website is required to download datasets.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a data archive of over 250,000 files in the social and behavioral sciences.

The National Oceanic and Administrative Association (NOAA) offers the largest collection of weather data.

Wikipedia uses a structured framework to extract data from Wikipedia as open source data.

Amazon provides access to The Million Songs Collection. It is "a collection of 28 datasets containing audio features and metadata for a million contemporary popular music tracks.”

Gapminder is a self-proclaimed fact tank that contains data on a wide array of indicators. It’s stated purpose is to produce “free teaching resources making the world understandable based on reliable statistics.”

A large repository on community published data and computer code.

Reddit is a source of a wide range of searchable datasets

SAS Curriculum Pathways Data Depot offers lessons and data for educators and students wishing to become more data literate.

Yahoo provides “interesting and scientifically useful datasets for non-commercial use by academics and other scientists.” It contains many datasets that span a wide range of categories.

Thousands of searchable APIs.

Harvard's repository for research data in science, humanities, business, engineering, social science offers usage metrics and formal scholarly data citations.

A collection of graphs and other figures from published research

Registry of Research Data Repositories

A global directory of open access repositories