AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material covering all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.
NSDL is the National Science Foundation's online library of resources and collections for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and research.
An evidence-based, peer reviewed database of clinical information, covering more than 7,700 topics in 15 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database.
eLS features over 4,900 peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences. eLS is updated by approximately 400 articles per year, with new articles publishing on a monthly basis.
This new eighth edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect recent progress in the fields of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, with particular expansion to the areas of ecology, cell biology, and plant and animal development. Over 150 new entries include de-extinction, ecological footprint, rewilding, and Zika virus.
Scitable is a free science library created by Nature Publishing Group. Scitable focuses on genetics and cell biology and also offers resources for the budding scientist, with advice about effective science communication and career paths.
The Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) finds regions of local similarity between sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches.
The DNA Sequencing Center (DNASC) is committed to serving the BYU research community by providing advanced and efficient services for DNA sequence and DNA fragment acquisition and analysis.
ExPASy is the SIB Bioinformatics Resource Portal which provides access to scientific databases and software tools in different areas of life sciences including proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, transcriptomics etc.
PHYLIP is a free package of programs for inferring phylogenies. It is distributed as source code, documentation files, and a number of different types of executables.
The Sequence Manipulation Suite is a collection of JavaScript programs for generating, formatting, and analyzing short DNA and protein sequences. It is commonly used by molecular biologists, for teaching, and for program and algorithm testing.
NSDL is the National Science Foundation's online library of resources and collections for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and research.
Scitable is a free science library created by Nature Publishing Group. Scitable focuses on genetics and cell biology and also offers resources for the budding scientist, with advice about effective science communication and career paths.
Up-to-date and easy to follow protocols on research methods in genetics, bioinformatics, computational biology, immunology, and other laboratory biological sciences.
Provides practice tests and study materials for graduate school entrance exams. Includes information on building resumes, applying for scholarships, career choices, and over 4,000 accredited colleges and universities.
National Science Digital Library
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS)
Oxford Dictionary of Biology
Oxford Encyclopedia of Evolution
Scitable (Nature Publishing Group)