It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Manufacturing Engineering & MET: Get Journal Articles
Article databases store information about articles that are published in journals and other publications relating to a specific discipline. They provide powerfulsearch engines to help you efficiently find the articles you need. The databases below are selected for this particular discipline and listed in the order of preference. Some databases also include the full text of the articles and will have a pdf link; if they do not include the full text, look for the "Get it at BYU" link within the search result. Clicking this will direct you to either the electronic version of the article, the call number for the printed version, or the InterLibrary Loan service (ILL) to request the article if not available at BYU. ILL requests are free and usually take 2-4 days to fufill. You can also use ILL to request a copy of a print article even if BYU has it. Feel free to use the chat box on the Subject Guide's home page if you need more information or to answer any questions you may have.
Best Journal Article Databases
CompendexThis link opens in a new window1969+ Provides indexing and abstracts of the world's engineering literature in all fields of engineering. The database includes journal articles, conference papers and technical reports. Sources for the records are from over five thousand journals, conference proceedings and reports. As of the year 2000 there are over five million records in Compendex. Updated weekly.
No systematic or automated downloading.
IEEE XploreThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. (IEEE) Xplore. 1988+ IEEE Xplore indexes and provides full-text access to all IEEE journals, conferences, and standards. All IEE journals and conferences are also included.
No systematic downloading or robotic crawling.
Scopus (Elsevier)This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science Core Collection accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly 1974
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowComputers and Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,200 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals.
More Journal Article Databases
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
ERIC (ProQuest)This link opens in a new window1967+ ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Resource Information Center databases, contains indexing and abstracts from thousands of research and technical reports in the Resources In Education Index (RIE) and from more than 750 education and education-related journals in the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). In addition, selected full text articles are available for thousands of ERIC digest records. Updated quarterly.
ASME Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe ASME Digital Library is ASME's primary repository of current and archival literature featuring ASME's Transaction Journals. To view what is currently available, use the tabs at the top of the page to navigate to the publication of your choice, then click on the "Available Volume List." Our subscription includes the journals but not the other content.
SAE Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Digital Library. The SAE Digital Library cites mobility information used in designing, building, maintaining, and operating self-propelled vehicles for use on on land or sea, in air or space. This database is built on the SAE Global Mobility Database (GMD) which contains more than 85,000 bibliographic citations with abstracts for everything ever published by SAE and includes links to the full text of all SAE Technical Papers published from 1998 through the present. Dates of coverage: 1906-present (full-text from 1998); Update frequency is daily.
Gale In Context: Environmental StudiesThis link opens in a new windowGREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1861 - Current. With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.