Subject Guides: Exercise Sciences: Additional Resources

Finding Statistics

Includes Market Research, Government Statistics, Facility Reports and News, International Market Publications, Customized Research, and Directories

Statista

"Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database."

Pew Research Group

A research center that provides the public with facts concerning current issues and trends.

Databases of Clinical Information

UpToDate This link opens in a new window An evidence-based, peer reviewed database of clinical information.
For educational use only.
Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window Provides a comprehensive, clinical knowledge base that will prepare you for success in clinical practice.

bioRxiv A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
Health & Wellness Resource Center Health & Wellness Resource Center offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Tests and Evaluation Measures

PsycTESTS (EBSCO)l
PsycTESTS, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for the full text of psychological tests and measures as well as a source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycTESTS contains over 6,000 Master Profiles and nearly 4,500 instances of actual tests or test items. Coverage dates from 1910 to the present.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCO)
Health and Psychosocial Instruments is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Coverage dates from 1910 to the present.
ETS Test Collection Database
This database contains over 25,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present. Each entry includes information on the test availability, author, and abstract (if available). BYU has microfiche copies of some of these tests.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO)
Mental Measurements Yearbook provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The mental Measurements Yearbook contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.

Tips on Finding Tests & Measures

American Psychological Association- FAQ/Finding Information About Psychological Tests

Selected Sport and PE Websites

American Council on Exercise
"The American Council on Exercise is a nonprofit organization committed to enriching quality of life through safe and effective exercise and physical activity."
PE Central
Site for health & physical education teachers, parents and students. Provides the latest information about developmentally appropriate physical education programs for children.
Sport Science, Sport Medicine & Sport Research
Sport Science, Sport Medicine & Sport Research
Sports Reference
A combination of sites providing statistics and resources for sports fans everywhere. Includes baseball, basketball, football, hockey, and the Olympics.
The H.J. Lutcher Stark Center for Physical Culture and Sports

Health Related Websites

American Medical Association Since 1847 the American Medical Association (AMA) has had one mission: to promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health. Today, the core strategy used to carry out this mission is our concerted effort to help doctors help patients. We do this by uniting physicians nationwide to work on the most important professional and public health issues.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) CDC serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.
CIDRAP The Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (CIDRAP), founded in 2001, is a global leader in addressing public health preparedness and emerging infectious disease response.
Food and Drug Administration The FDA promotes public health by reviewing clinical research and taking appropriate action on the marketing of regulated products.
Genetics Home Reference Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health. The resources on this site should not be used as a substitute for professional medical care or advice. Users seeking information about a personal genetic disease, syndrome, or condition should consult with a qualified healthcare professional.
Health & Wellness Resource Center Health & Wellness Resource Center offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Mayo Clinic Mayo Clinic is a nonprofit worldwide leader in medical care, research and education for people from all walks of life. Doctors from every medical specialty work together to care for patients, joined by common systems and a philosophy of "the needs of the patient come first."
Merck Manual - Consumers Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.
Merck Manual - Professional Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.
National Academy of Sciences The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.
National Center for Biotechnology Information Links to Genbank database, tools for data mining including BLAST, COGS, MapViewer, LocusLink, UniGen, ORF finder, Electronic PCR, VAST search, CCAP, Human-Mouse Homology maps, VecScreen, and Cancer Genome Anatomy Project. Also provides access to Entrez: a retrieval system for searching several linked databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide sequence database, protein sequence database, structure, genome, population data sets, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man, taxonomy, 3D domains, ProbeSet, and online books.
National Center for Health Statistics Start here when looking for statistics.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives. NIH’s mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce the burdens of illness and disability.

National Library of Medicine This link opens in a new window PubMed provides Web access to resources of the National Library of Medicine, the world's largest biomedical library. Includes access to MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE, and molecular biology databases from the Entrez retrieval system.

National Science Foundation (NSF) The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" NSF is the only federal agency whose mission includes support for all fields of fundamental science and engineering, except for medical sciences.
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) is an international public health agency with 100 years of experience in working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also serves as the Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization and enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system.
ResearchGate ResearchGate is a free professional network for researchers in a variety of scientific disciplines. With over one million members, ResearchGate allows users to share ideas and collaborate with other researchers throughout the world. Some of the available applications in ResearchGate enable users to contribute to scholarly discussions, search for publications, learn about scientific conferences, and hunt for jobs in specific fields.
US Department of Health and Human Services The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.
World Health Organization Provides information and statistics on many global health issues.

Anatomy Resources

Acland's Anatomy

Medical Images

Servier Medical Art
A database of 3000 medical images licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License, which allows for free use with attribution. See https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/ for details.
MedPix
An open access database of medical images and more, available for personal use and for local teaching. See https://medpix.nlm.nih.gov/licensing for details.
Open-i: Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
This service enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. For reuse permissions, look for the "license" link at the bottom right of each image.
National Cancer Institute Visuals Online
A collection of biomedical, science, and patient-care illustrations and images. Images are labeled either public domain or copyright protected; if protected, contact information for the rights holder is provided. See https://visualsonline.cancer.gov/about.cfm for details.

For Creating Presentations

The Noun Project
A database of over 1 million icons. Free to use with attribution; royalty-free access requires a paid account.
BioRender
Use this free (for educational use) tool, with thousands of icons in its library, to create professional figures yourself.