Khan AcademyKhan Academy is a set of 1000+ videos covering everything from basic arithmetic and algebra to differential equations, physics, statistics, chemistry, biology and finance. Includes SAT and GMAT prep.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)This link opens in a new windowJournal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.
Reference Handbooks and Tables
ASM HandbooksThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: American Society for Metals (ASM) Handbook. Features the complete content of twenty one ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions.
Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical TablesThis link opens in a new windowThis volume provides scientific investigators with a comprehensive and self-contained summary of mathematical functions that arise in physical and engineering problems. Contains mathematical formulas, tables, graphs, a complete table of analytical integrals, differential equations, and numerical series. The volume includes tables of trigonometric and hyperbolic functions, tables for numerical integration, rules for differentiation and integration, and techniques for point interpolation and function approximation. Additionally, an entire section to mathematical and physical constants is included as well as a discussion on statistics by combinatorial analysis and probability functions.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and TechnologyThis link opens in a new windowAlternate title: International Critical Tables. This classic and well-known reference was originally published for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The original 1000-page index is hyperlinked to each entry's appropriate page.
Knovel Critical TablesThis link opens in a new windowThis important, interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables alone include over 21,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have data for 385 common solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have data for over 15,000 compounds. Additionally, several tables make use of the interactive Equation Plotter to plot thermodynamic properties as a function of temperature.
Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)This link opens in a new windowOriginally published by Smithsonian Institution Press, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers.
Thermal Properties and ResourcesOver 1000 searchable materials, with corresponding thermal conductivity, thermal diffusivity, thermal effusivity, specific heat and density information. Includes Thermal Simulation Software and Thermal Properties Calculator.
Datasets
Data.govData.gov is a government repository of publicly accessible data. The datasets can be organized by governmental organization or searched using keywords.
Kaggle DatasetsKaggle hosts a large number of publicly available datasets and prompts analysis through competitions.
Data Planet (SAGE)This link opens in a new windowData Planet Statistical Datasets interface allows users to browse available datasets by subject and source and to manipulate variables to create customized views of the data, as well as to search for statistics of interest.
Minerals YearbookThe Minerals Yearbook is an annual publication that reviews the mineral and material industries of the United States and foreign countries. The Yearbook contains statistical data on materials and minerals and includes information on economic and technical trends and development. The Minerals Yearbook includes chapters on approximately 90 commodities and over 175 countries.
Minerals InformationStatistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment.
Metals Pricing
Infomine Commodities PricingCommodityMine is a comprehensive news and information source. In addition to the latest prices, you can find in-depth commodity news, a list of upcoming mining events and even career information. The All Charts page allows you to compare price changes for gold, silver, copper and other commodities over a variety of time periods. Dynamic Charting allows you to adjust individual commodity timelines according to weight and currency.
London Metals ExchangeView a selection up to date and delayed London Metals Exchange market data. To access this data, you must be a registered user of the LME.com free market data service. Registration for this service is free and on completion of the registration process you will be able to log in and view LME market data. This service only provides market data for the current calendar year.
Metal Industry IndicatorsThe Metal Industry Indicators (MII) is a monthly newsletter that analyzes and forecasts the economic health of five metal industries: primary metals, steel, copper, primary aluminum, and aluminum mill products.
Technical Reports
NASA Technical Reports ServerSearch NASA reports by keyword or browse by date, type of publication, and NASA Center.
NATO Scientific PublicationsSearch reports from the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, including the Science and Technology Organization (STO), the Advisory Group for Aerospace Research and Development (AGARD), and the Centre for Maritime Research and Experimentation (CMRE)
National Academies PressThe National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. These nonprofit institutions provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and the world. Most of their over 8,000 reports are available for free download.
Oak Ridge National Laboratory Research LibraryThe Research Library at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) assists researchers in finding the information they need to carry out nationally important research. Primary subject areas covered include chemistry, physics, materials science, biological and environmental sciences, computer science, mathematics, engineering, nuclear technology, and homeland security. New library resources are primarily electronic, but the library still houses valuable print and microform collections.
Discover recently added books in our Science & Engineering collection.
Misc Resources
Lists of Manufacturers
Industrial Quick Search (IQS)This database categorizes the OEM manufacturing marketplace in the US and Canada into 180 industry categories, each having hundreds of manufacturers. The database also includes 25 major industry groups that encompass the 180 categories for further context of their inter-relationships within those categories.
Thomas RegisterFrom the small job shop to the Fortune 100 giant, Thomas Register helps to connect the right buyers with the right suppliers, and to equip everyone involved with the knowledge and information they need to thrive in their constantly evolving marketplace.
Global SpecLists products, suppliers, services and consultants.
Standards, Building Codes, MSDS
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowIncludes all 13,000 ASTM standards, as well as Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and 8 Journals.
IEEE StandardsThis link opens in a new windowOver 1300 IEEE standards by number or subject
EverySpecSingle source for free access to over 30,000 Military, DoD, Federal, NASA, DOE, and Government specifications, standards, handbooks, and publications.
Standards via US Code of Fed. Reg.The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in read only format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options. Standards available on the ANSI IBR Portal include those developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and other standards developing organizations (SDOs) that have signed a terms and conditions agreement with ANSI. To access the standards in PDF format, go to the IBR Standards tab above. All users will be required to install the FileOpen plug-in and accept an online end user license agreement prior to accessing any standards. In addition to the standards available directly through the portal, several SDOs are offering free access via their own website; links are provided in the IBR Standards tab above.
Patent Searching
Worldwide Patents (Espacenet)This database maintained by the European Patent Office provides access to over 110 million patent documents.
US Patents and Trademarks (USPTO)This website, managed by the US Patent and Trademark Office, provides access to US Patents, published Patent Applications, and Trademarks. It also provides information relating to filing for patents and trademarks.
LensUS, European and Worldwide collections searchable in full text of the entire specifications, with links to global patent families. Single inventions may have dozens, hundreds or even thousands of related patent documents in up to 80 different jurisdictions. See and explore these relationships.
Google Patent Search (Advanced)Search U.S. and International patents by keyword, title, number, inventor, type, date, assignee, etc.
Free patents OnlineThis is a free patent searching site with PDF downloading, world patent searching, alerts, and other account functions.
