Subject Guides: Medicine: Journals & Articles

Additional Databases

Alt-Health Watch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An Alternative Medicine and Healthcare related database. This database contains perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness through coverage of the full spectrum of subject areas. Sources include peer-reviewed reports and journals, proceedings, newsletters, original research and book excerpts. Several of the 140 international sources are full-text. Coverage is from 1990 to the present.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over one million journal, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in 2,000 journals from over 50 countries in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. PsychInfo is provided by the American Psychological Association.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition offers journals which cover virtually every area of medical study. Topics include: clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. Includes over 100 full-text journals.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Updated on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of eight evidence-based medicine databases. It is the best single source of reliable evidence about the effects of healthcare.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. The database provides the latest perspectives on topics of widespread concern such as aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety occupational safety, and ergonomics.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes the full text for nearly 165 journals covering health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Includes the British Medical Journal and The Lancet, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes the full text of over 520 scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines with a particularly strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 560 journals.
International Pharmacopoeia This link opens in a new window
The International Pharmacopoeia (Ph. Int.) constitutes a collection of recommended procedures for analysis and specifications for the determination of pharmaceutical substances, excipients, and dosage forms that is intended to serve as source material for reference or adaptation by any WHO Member State wishing to establish pharmaceutical requirements. The pharmacopoeia, or any part of it, shall have legal status, whenever a national or regional authority expressly introduces it into appropriate legislation.The history of The International Pharmacopoeia dates back to 1874 when the need to standardize terminology and to specify dosages and composition of drugs led to attempts to produce an international pharmacopoeial compendium.
Nutrition and Food Sciences This link opens in a new window
Nutrition and Food Sciences is an internet resource from CABI Publishing. Nutrition and Food Sciences (formerly Nutritiongate) gives unique access to the nutrition, food science and food technology subset of CAB Abstracts totaling more than half a million records. In addition, it provides specially commissioned reviews and other resources designed to inform a professional audience working in the fields of food and nutrition. The database portion covers the years 1973 to present. Complete, international coverage of over 2000 serials from over 130 countries are scanned for inclusion in the database and it is updated weekly.
MAY NOT Systematically make print or electronic copies for any purpose.

PEDro
PEDro is a free database of over 19,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles in sociology and related fields. Index covers 1952 to the present and is updated quarterly.
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1975+ SPORTDiscus is a unique resource for both practical and research literature on sports, physical fitness and physical education topics. Records cover sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and research literature for the social and psychological aspects of sport and leisure, including play, games and dance.
Toxicology Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Topics of current concern such as the effects of alcohol and smoking, drug abuse, hydrocarbon studies, nitrosamines, radiation and radioactive materials, and much more are extensively examined. Toxicity testing methodology and analytical procedures for toxic substances are also covered.
TOXLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
TOXLINE on this service offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; furthermore, it is a "rolling 5-year" database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 15 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database.
For educational use only.

Clinical Databases

Trip Database This link opens in a new window Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
StatPearls This link opens in a new window An expansive array of point-of-care and educational activities for health professionals in hospital, ambulatory, and community-based settings.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 15 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database.
For educational use only.
Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window Provides a comprehensive, clinical knowledge base that will prepare you for success in clinical practice.
Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Deliver a safe, consistent, patient- and survey-ready environment to support consistent patient care with evidence-based, step-by-step guidance for 2,200+ nursing procedures and skills.

Journal Evaluation Tools

Ulrichsweb
Includes information of all kinds about periodical publications. On the journal page, look for the "refereed" line. If it says yes, then the journal is peer reviewed.
Journal Citation Reports
Includes impact factors and other statistical measures for over 7,000 journals in science and the social sciences.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR)
Journals can be grouped by subject area, subject category, or by country. Citation data is drawn from over 21,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and country performance metrics from 239 countries worldwide.

Medicine: Journals & Articles

Recommended Article Databases

Additional Databases

Clinical Databases

Journal Evaluation Tools