Subject Guides: History--American: Civil War and Reconstruction

Books

The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies by United States War Department
Call Number: W 45.6: Ser.I/vol. L
Publication Date: 1880-1902
Supplement to the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
Call Number: E 464 .U6 1994
ISBN: 1568372752
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
Call Number: Sco. Sci. Ref. E 468 .H47 2000 vol.1
ISBN: 1576070662
Encyclopedia of the Confederacy
Call Number: Sco. Sci. Ref. E 487.E55 1993
ISBN: 0132759918
Areas to browse in the HBLL
Call Number: E 456-E 655; E 671- E 680

United States History Civil War 1861-1865 Sources

United States History Civil War 1861-1865–Personal narratives

Civil War on Fold3 This link opens in a new window
Includes Soldier Records, Photographs, Original War Maps, Widows Pension files, Court Investigations, Slave Records, Lincoln Records.

HeinOnline
900 journals & 1200 periodicals, Congressional Records, Supreme Court decidions
JSTOR
U. S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs--U. S. Supreme Court from 1832 to 1978
New York Times Archive
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
HarpWeek
HarpWeek enables you to directly experience the richness and historical significance of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.

Frank Leslie's Weekly This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1855 and continued until 1922, Frank Leslie's Weekly was an American illustrated literary and news publication which combined elements of war, politics, art, science, travel and exploration, literature and the fine arts in each issue. From History Commons, formerly Accessible Archives.

American Civil War Letters and Diaries
Contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. Particular care has been taken to index this material so it can be searched more thoroughly than ever. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The product includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Adam Matthew.

American Civil War Letters and Diaries (ASP) This link opens in a new window
A Civil War database from Alexander Street Press. This database provides extensive Primary source material. Sources in this collection include letters, diaries, memoirs and books written by people who lived during the Civil War. Authors include soldiers, politicians, generals, slaves, farmers, seamen, wives, and foreign and domestic spies. Writings are full-text and sorted by author, event, location and battles. Coverage is of texts written between 1855 and 1875.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Adam Matthew.

War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
Also known as the Official Record (OR)-Collection by Cornell University. Full text search of the most comprehensive collection of Civil War communications.
Abraham Lincoln Association
Provides journals and other collected works relevant to the life of Abraham Lincoln
Google Book Search Google Book Search searches a growing "database" of digitized books with access to Full Text View, Sample Page View, and Snippet Views, depending on the title.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
The Hathi Trust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. Check the Full view only box when searching to limit your results to freely accessible materials.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
No latest bestsellers or modern computer books here, but plenty of classics from the literary canon.