Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Periodical Indexes
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowProvides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 92 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australia. Coverage: 1969-2002
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Lang. & Literature) This link opens in a new windowAn English Literature database. This database contains monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations from around the world on the topic of English literature. British, American and Commonwealth writings are represented. Includes full-text versions of 120 literature journals. Coverage is from 1920 to the present.
Performing Arts Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts more than 140 international periodicals covering nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Formerly International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowIndexes the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA citation index for the Arts & Humanities. Database coverage includes the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 to the present.
Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (IBZ) This link opens in a new windowAlternate title: International Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur (IBZ). 1989+ Indexes international periodicals in all scholarly disciplines. Updated twice a year.
Iter - Resources in European Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIndexes citations of articles in over 600 journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Shakespearean Criticism : Excerpts from the Criticism of William Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry, From the First Published Appraisals to Current Evaluations - Humanities Reference PR 2965 .S43
A great source.Indexes are especially good: you can look up a theme, a motif, to learn where it's been treated in relation to a play, character, etc. Or, you can begin with a play, a specific character, and see the connections with theme and/or motif. Articles/essays (written by noteworthy, even famous critics/ contemporaries) are arranged in chronological order revealing trends in criticism over the life of the author/work. Full text.
Literature Criticism Online
Literary criticism essays covering all area of literature including including electronic version of writings found in Shakespearean Criticism print volumes.
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.
RefWorks This link opens in a new windowThe new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Zotero This link opens in a new windowA free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.