Subject Guides: Dance 342: Kinesiology and Related Sciences for Dancers: Article Databases

Recommended Indexes

Recommended Resources

Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1975+ SPORTDiscus is a unique resource for both practical and research literature on sports, physical fitness and physical education topics. Records cover sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and research literature for the social and psychological aspects of sport and leisure, including play, games and dance.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine; the original version is called PUBMED (Public version of MEDLINE). References are added from over 4700 medical journals and publications and it includes the years 1966 to present. MEDLINE references are obtained from peer reviewed journals, and covers subjects in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care services, and clinical and pre-clinical medical sciences. MEDLINE in PUBMED is updated daily. MEDLINE in EBSCO is updated monthly. The links to full text articles in PUBMED do not always take you to the article. The links in MEDLINE EBSCO either take you to the full text of the article, or to the Lee Library Journal Finder record which will provide links to the full article or the option of requesting a copy of an article through Interlibrary Loan.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window IBTD is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Full text access is available to over 490 titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books and monographs.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 9,300 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic. Updated weekly 1974+
Systematic downloading, redistribution to non-subscribers, and any commercial use expressly prohibited.
OregonPDF in Health Performance This link opens in a new window OregonPDF in Health and Performance, a non-profit foundation, cooperates with colleges and universities throughout the world to make available graduate dissertations and theses in areas related to health and performance. The intellectual focus of the collection is physical activity. Academic areas of interest include biochemistry, biomechanics, dance, exercise physiology, history or philosophy of physical education, kinesiology, motor control, obesity, recreation, sports marketing, sports medicine, sports pedagogy, sports psychology, and tests and measurements. The collection has developed continuously since 1948. There are over 10,000 dissertations and theses, with over 200 added each year. Through this website you can access, search, and instantly download the material.

IIPA: International Index to Performing Arts IIPA is a performing arts journal resource with over half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to the present, covering theatre, dance and film.
more...less...
International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) is an unparalleled resource for performing arts on the web, which provides indexing and abstracts for more than 256 international periodicals. The database currently includes over half a million records, the majority of which index articles from 1998 onwards. Around 128,000 records in IIPA are from the backfile (up to 1997) and much of this coverage commences at the first issue of the journal run.IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art and more.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window

Other Useful Indexes

Other Useful Resources

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR has created a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats, inlcuding 62 music journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE offers full text, affordable access to current content from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is the most reliable source of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window RILM covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more. Coverage begins with publications from 1967 and continues through the present.

Academic Search Premier Academic Search™ Premier contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. About 30 of these are academic music journals.

Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window As the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Full text for more than 1,450 journals, high-quality indexing and in-depth abstracts for thousands of journals, and indexing for hundreds of thousands of articles.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.

Google Scholar Search

Searches the web for scholarly articles.

Using google scholar from home:

Scholar.google.com

Settings

Library links

Choose BYU

Get Help

Music & Dance Help Desk
4432 HBLL - Level 4
Music & Dance Web Page
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

Phone: (801) 422-1725
E-mail: music_reference@byu.edu