Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
18th Century Collection (ECCO)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is based on the English Short Title Catalog (ESTC), and contains English-language and foreign-language titles published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal
This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion.
Eighteenth Century Resources has numerous resources dedicated to this century as experienced in Europe and America. Among disciplines represented are art, architecture, landscape gardening, history, literature (including electronic texts), music, philosophy, religion & theology, science & mathematics, professional resources and journals (including calls for papers) and home pages of people working in the eighteenth century.
America's Historical Imprints
Simultaneously search Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.
American Rhetoric combines the Online Speech Bank, an index to over 5,000 speeches, and The Top 100 Speeches into one searchable database.
Sabin Americana Digital Archive (Gale)
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875
A collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography "American Fiction, 1851-1875." There are currently 2,839 titles available (2,887 volumes) including T.S. Arthur, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Alice Cary and David Ross Locke, a.k.a. Petrolium V. Nasby, one of Lincoln's favorites.
Literature Online (LION)
Indexes the full-text of nine literary databases dealing with English poetry and drama, 18th century fiction, American and African poetry and Shakespeare. Also contains selected reference works and provides access to related literary websites.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, Semantically Indexed and online for the first time. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. It currently contains over 69,000 pages.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)
1675 - 1950. Full text database containing the letters and diaries of 1500 women. Includes biographies and annotated bibliographies of the sources.
May make a limited number of print or digital copies for research, education, or other non-commercial use.
May not alter, remove, or obscure copyright notice.
Short Stories, Poetry, Drama, Quotations
Lost Titles, Forgotten Rhymes
This site guides you in helping users find a novel, short story, or poem when they know only its plot or subject, or other textual information such as a character's name, a line of poetry, or a unique word or phrase.
Play Index includes 40,000 plays published 1949 to the present. Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama.
Short Story Index
Index to short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals. It contains over 76,500 entries including 1,350 full-text stories. The periodicals are those indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index. Search using WilsonWeb commands.
American Periodical Series Online 1741-1900 (ProQuest - Full text)
This database includes digitized images of popular magazines and other rare periodicals from early American history up through the 1940's. Coverag:1741 to 1941 and includes over 1000 different titles.
No systematic downloading of this database is allowed
Any copies of articles or other materials from this database must include appropriate citation information (title, author, publisher, copyright notice, etc.) and must be deleted when no longer in use.
Godey's Lady's Book
First successful American journal for women. Resource for the study of 19th Century American history and important social issues of the day. Covers social history, women's studies, textiles studies, material culture and literature. Many of America's greatest authors were first published in Godey's. Accessible Archives covers 1830-1885.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines (ASP)
Important and Rare Periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses.
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (OCLC)
AAI indexes and abstracts the entire journal contents of 42 American art periodicals published between 1840-1907. Includes articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, advertisements, exhibitions, and works of art.
PCI Full Text (Periodical Contents Index or Periodicals Archive Online - PAO)
1770-1991 Indexes the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues through 1995. Now includes a growing number of links to original articles. Includes journals in English, French, German, Italian and Spanish.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)
19th Century U.S. Newspaper Digital Archive (Gale)
Approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century United States. This database has full-text searching capability, and it displays images from numerous newspapers from urban and rural areas.
Archive of Americana
Includes digitized collections covering the earliest printed newspapers.
Weekly newspaper covering the Civil War Era, 1857-1871. Prolific Mormon and Civil War subject content. Fully indexed, web access. Original displayed in image format.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Search the archives of the Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Wall Street Journal, and New York Times. Dates range from 1849 to 2005.
New York Times Archive (1851-2006)
New York Times Archive (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
William A. Wilson Folklore Archives
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Zotero This link opens in a new window
A free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.