Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Literature: Specialized Reference Sources

SPECIALIZED SOURCES (literary periods, genre, gender, regional and ethnic literatures)

Early Puritan Writers : a Reference Guide : William Bradford, John Cotton, Thomas Hooker, Edward Johnson, Richard Mather, Thomas Shepard  Edward J. Gallagher, Thomas Werge. Boston : G. K. Hall, c1976. Humanties Reference  PS 191.X1 G34

Encyclopedia of Transcendentalism  Edited by Wesley T. Mott. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 1996.  Humanities Reference PS 217 .T7 E53 1996

American Nature Writers  John Elder, editor. New York : Charles Scribner's Sons, c1996.  Humanities Reference PS 163 .A6 1996

Encyclopedia of American Poetry. The Nineteenth Century  Edited by Eric L. Haralson ; John Hollander, advisory editor. Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998.   Humanities Reference PS 316 .E53 1998

The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States  Editors in chief, Cathy N. Davidson, Linda Wagner-Martin ; editors, Elizabeth Ammons ... [et al.]. New York : Oxford University Press, 1995. Humanities Reference PS 147 .O94 1995

Contemporary Southern Writers Guest foreword by Thomas M. Carlson ; editor, Roger Matuz. Detroit : St. James Press, c1999.  Humanities Reference PS 261 .C569 1999

Civil War Novels : an Annotated Bibliography  Albert J. Menendez. New York : Garland, 1986. Humanities Reference PS 374 .C54 X7 1986

The Vietnam Experience : a Concise Encyclopedia of American Literature, Songs, and Films  Kevin Hillstrom and Laurie Collier Hillstrom. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998.  Humanities Reference PS 228 .V5 H55 1998

A Bibliographical Guide to the Study of Western American Literature Edited by Richard W. Etulain and N. Jill Howard. 2nd ed. Albuquerque : University of New Mexico Press, c1995.  Humanities Reference PS 271 .X1 E88 1995

Jewish American Fiction Writers : an Annotated Bibliography  Gloria L. Cronin, Blaine H. Hall, Connie Lamb. New York : Garland Pub., 1991. Humanities Reference PS 153 .J4 X53 1991

The Oxford Companion to African American Literature Editors, William L. Andrews, Frances Smith Foster, Trudier Harris ; foreword by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. New York : Oxford University Press, 1997. Humanities Reference PS 153 .N5 O96 1997

The Harlem Renaissance and Beyond : Literary Biographies of 100 Black Women Writers,1900-1945 Lorraine Elena Roses, Ruth Elizabeth Randolph. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1990. Humanities Reference PS 153.N5 R65 1989

The Native American in American Literature : a Selectively Annotated Bibliography  Compiled by Roger O. Rock. Westport, Conn. ; London, England : Greenwood Press, 1985. Humanities Reference PS 173 .I6 X8 1985

American Diversity, American Identity : the Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience  John K. Roth, editor. 1st ed. New York : Holt, 1995. Humanities Reference PS 169 .N35 A44 1995

New Immigrant Literatures in the United States : a Sourcebook to Our Multicultural Literary Heritage   Edited by Alpana Sharma Knippling. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996. Humanities Reference PS 153 .M56 N475 1996

American History Through Literature 1820-1870 & American History Through Literature 1870-1920 Presents literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives. The set, which is "new historicist" in its approach to literary criticism, endorses the notion that not only does history affect literature, but literature itself informs history.  Print versions in Humanities Reference PS 217 .H57 A84 2005 & PS 217 .H57 A843 2005

North American Theatre Online (Alexander Street Press) A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to more than 25,000 plays, nearly 28,000 people, 3,000 theatres, 12,500 productions and 1,500 production companies. The file also includes some 5,000 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
Usage Terms


BACK TO AMERICAN LITERATURE REFERENCE PAGE

Get Help

Humanities  Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

chat loading...