It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dance 354: Dance and Identity: Dance Journals and Magazines
The journals and magazines listed below have online full-text electronic availability. Click on the periodical's title to link to information about the extent of the HBLL's holdings in print and/or availability of the periodical electronically. Use the call number to locate the periodical in Music & Dance. Current print issues may be found in the Music & Dance Reading Room (map). Back issues are bound together and can be found in the Music & Dance stacks (map).
American Journal of Dance TherapyThis journal of the American Dance Therapy Association reports the latest findings in dance therapy theory, research, and clinical practice. The American Journal of Dance Therapy (AJDT) presents original contributions, case material, reviews, and studies by leading educators and practitioners in the field.
Call Number: MD 1580 .A53
Attitude: The Dancers' MagazineATTITUDE is an artist-initiated independent dance magazine for savvy readers focused on having information from New York City, the dance capitol of the world. It documents the lives of diverse innovative dance artists of regional New York and the global community as they perform especially in venues of New York's five boroughs. Each issue contains features, reviews, research news, and announcemnts. ATTITUDE covers all dance forms, including ballet, modern, jazz, tap, ethnic, theatre and Broadway.
Call Number: MD 1580 .A88
Brolga: An Australian Journal about DanceBrolga publishes current research and critical thinking about dance, including: dance artists—cutting edge and emerging practices; exploration of historical events, performances and people; discussions on dance and education; academic papers about philosophy, composition, criticism, music and costume for dance; and reviews of recent dance publications.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B66
Contact QuarterlyCONTACT QUARTERLY, journal of dance, improvisation, performance, and contemporary movement arts is the longest living, independent, artist-made, not-for-profit, reader-supported magazine devoted to the dancer's voice. CQ is unique among dance periodicals in presenting the artist's voice in the artist words.
Call Number: MD 1580 .C66
Dance Chronicle: Studies in Dance and the Related ArtsDance Chronicle is international in perspective and interdisciplinary in thrust, as indicated by its subtitle, Studies in Dance and the Related Arts, placing it at the forefront of dance history research. Articles address a wide variety of topics, including dance and music, theater, film, literature, visual arts, and aesthetics within a broad panorama of countries, cities, and venues.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D233
Dance MagazineOn top of the dance world for over 80 years, Dance Magazine is the must-read magazine for professional and aspiring dancers. From Broadway to ballet and tap to hip hop, no other magazine keeps you in touch with what is going on in all disciplines of dance.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D245
Dance Magazine College GuideWith 600+ listings, the annual Dance Magazine College Guide is a must-read resource. Whether you’re looking for a dance degree program or want to continue dancing in college while majoring in something else, the College Guide provides the information you need to find the right school. Look inside for dance program descriptions, application deadlines, audition dates and requirements, scholarships, tuition rates, and more. Don’t miss our special Graduate Study section that spotlights M.A., M.F.A., and PhD programs.
Call Number: MD 1582 .D36
Dance Research JournalDance Research Journal (DRJ), published twice yearly, is the official journal of the Congress on Research in Dance (CORD). DRJ carries scholarly articles, book reviews, a list of books and journals received, and reports of scholarly conferences, archives, and other projects of interest to the field.
Call Number: MD 1580 .C65
Dance Research : the Journal of the Society for Dance ResearchDance Research, the Society for Dance Research's peer-reviewed journal, is published twice a year by Edinburgh University Press and contains articles and book reviews reflecting the range of members' interests. Dance Research is essential reading for those involved in the study and practice of dance. It is edited and published in Britain with the assistance of a distinguished group of editorial consultants based in Europe and the USA. The journal provides an international forum for the presentation and discussion of contemporary dance research and contains a section of comprehensive book and journal reviews.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D354x
Dance SpiritDance Spirit is the one magazine dedicated to inspiring the next generation of dancers. Each issue is packed with expert advice on dance techniques and performing, health and nutrition tips and the latest styles to keep you looking your best from studio to stage to school.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D355
Dance TeacherDance Teacher is the ONLY magazine written just for dance professionals. Each issue is packed with useful ideas that will help you (and your students!) become better dancers. Dance Teacher also publishes the annual Dance Directory -- Dance Teacher's comprehensive sourcebook of dance-related products and services.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D333
Dance TodayFormerly the Ballroom Dancing Times, Dance Today has grown to encompass all elements of partner dance, from ballroom and Latin American, to salsa, tango, swing, sequence, and many more. The compact-sized glossy magazine includes interviews with leading dance stars, dancesport competition reports, informative features on health and nutrition, reviews of dance and musical theatre productions, books and DVDs, competition giveaways and a section of dance scripts as well as comprehensive listings for classes and events around the UK.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B55
DanceViewDanceView is a quarterly review of dance published since 1979. We publish comprehensive, full-season reviews of major companies (New York City Ballet, American Ballet Theatre, Paul Taylor Dance Company, Mark Morris, the Kirov, Paris Opera, Bolshoi, Royal, San Francisco and Miami City Ballets, for example). There's an interview about dancing in every issue; we regularly publish Marc Haegeman's interviews with stars of the Kirov and Paris Opera Ballets, and we also interview directors and choreographers. We also publish regular reports from New York, London and San Francisco.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D358
Dancing TimesDancing Times, first published in 1894 as the house magazine of the Cavendish Rooms, London, a ballroom dancing establishment, is the oldest monthly devoted to dancing. Dancing Times continues its original stated policy to maintain the highest standards of criticism and illustration, give voice to leading authorities, encourage high standards of teaching, encourage awareness of dance history and stress the importance of dance in education.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D366x
EDS: English Dance & SongEnglish Dance & Song is the longest-established magazine devoted to folk music, dance and song in the country. First published in 1936 by the English Folk Dance & Song Society, it has appeared at least four times a year ever since. The range of interests include traditional song, traditional dance (social, display, ceremonial), traditional music, custom and children's games. The geographical spread is not confined to England, but may also include Scotland, Wales and Ireland; as well as the USA, and other areas of the world which may be appropriate.
Call Number: MD 1580 .E53
Folk Dance SceneThe official newsmagazine of the Folk Dance Federation, South, is Folk Dance Scene. Scene is published to educate its readers concerning the folk dance, music, costumes, customs, lore, and culture of the peoples of the world. It also is designed to inform them of the opportunities to experience folk dance and culture in Southern California and elsewhere.
Call Number: MD 1580 .F64
Folk Dancer: The Magazine of World Dance and CultureThe Ontario Folk Dance Association is a non-profit organization of recreational dancers interested in the traditional music and dances of the world's different cultures. Its magazine, Folk Dancer, is published seven times a year.
Call Number: MD 1580 .F67
From the Green Room: Dance/USA's e-JournalCovering the business of dance for dancers, choreographers, administrators, dance organizations and foundations with news, commentary and discussion of issues relevant to the field.
Journal of Dance EducationThe Journal of Dance Education (JODE) is the official publication of the National Dance Education Organization. It serves artists, educators, scholars, and administrators in dance education. JODE publishes original articles on topics and issues related to the practical and theoretical aspects of dance education and training. Special features have covered multiple intelligences, dance in private studios, technology, gender in dance, and more.
Call Number: MD 1580 .J68
Journal of Dance Medicine & ScienceThe aim of the Journal of Dance Medicine & Science is to provide you with one source for up-to-date information. Featured articles are drawn from the fields of Anatomy and Physiology, Biomechanics, General Medicine, Sports Medicine and Surgery, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Physical Therapy, Dance Education, Kinesiology, Psychology, and Nutrition and Diet. Each year the Journal brings you original articles with a focus on the identification, treatment, rehabilitation, and prevention of illness and injuries in dancers. Articles emphasize the application of scientific principles to current practice.
Call Number: MD 1580 .J683
Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance (JOPERD)Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance (JOPERD) is the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD)'s largest, most frequently published, and most wide-ranging periodical. It is AAHPERD's cornerstone journal, reaching 12,000+ members and subscribers, providing information on a variety of health, physical education, recreation and dance issues.
Call Number: Online only
Let's Dance: The Magazine of International Folk DancingLet’s Dance magazine is an official publication of the Folk Dance Federation of California, Inc. It publishes dance descriptions; costume articles; dance history and information; articles about Federation clubs, members and others; and the activities of the Federation and its member clubs.
Call Number: MD 1580 .L4
NDD: l'actualité de la danseNDD is a French-language journal published by Belgian dance association Contredanse, which seeks to support and stimulate the creation of choreography. NDD publishes relevant information to the public, amateurs, and professionals in the field of dance.
Call Number: MD 1580 .N68 Quarto
PAJ: A Journal of Performance and ArtPAJ is admired internationally for its independent critical thought and cutting-edge explorations. PAJ charts new directions in performance, video, drama, dance, installations, media, film, and music, integrating theater and the visual arts. Artists' writings, critical commentary, interviews, and a special review section for performances and gallery shows are highlighted along with plays and performance texts from around the world. New features include Performance Drawings portfolios and the Art, Spirituality, and Religion ongoing series.
Call Number: ML 1 .P10885
PointePointe is ballet at its best. From the top Summer Intensive programs, and behind-the-scene looks at the hottest ballet companies, to finding the perfect pair of Pointe shoes for you, each issue takes you inside the world of ballet like no other magazine can.
Call Number: MD 1580 .P64
PulsePulse is the only magazine of its kind for South Asian Dance in the UK and internationally. The magazine is a rich source of information, opinion and insight; a vital point of contact and networking; an acknowledged reviewer of performance and a generator of debate. Pulse, which is primarily funded by Arts Council England, serves to highlight, that Britain is a happening place for South Asian dance and sets international trends in performance arts.
Call Number: MD 1580 .P85
Research in Dance EducationThe journal sets out to include contributors from a wide and diverse community of researchers. This extends to all aspects of dance in education, providing opportunities for both experienced and less experienced researchers. The journal encourages a wide range of research approaches and methods, in a forum for debate. An international audience will be attracted to the comparative study of dance teaching and learning, which the journal encompasses. Issues of pedagogy and subject content are addressed in relation to creating, performing and viewing dance in various contexts. The role and value of Dance as part of Arts Education and the connections with other Arts practitioners is also addressed.
Call Number: MD 1580 .R48
Sacred Dance Guild JournalThe Sacred Dance Guild Journal is now published online twice a year for SDG members and contains articles by members and occasional guest writers. The Journal offers news and reports about current SDG activities, articles about the history and practice of sacred dance, profiles of members (both past and present), samples of choreography, images and illustrations, and much more.
Call Number: MD 1580 .S27
Writings on DanceA journal of analysis, commentary, theory of the moving body, Writings on Dance is committed to supporting alternative practices in dance and other arts through documentation, critical reflection, and commentary. It is primarily a journal by and for artists. However, it also invites the participation of and contributions from philosophy, cultural theory, anthropology and other disciplines with a view to exploring intersections between performance practices and contemporary cultural debates.
Call Number: MD 1580 .W74
Print Dance Journals and Magazines
The journals and magazines listed below are available ONLY in print. Click on the periodical's title to link to information about the extent of the HBLL's holdings. Use the call number to locate the periodical in Music & Dance. Current issues may be found in the Music & Dance Reading Room (map). Back issues are bound together and can be found in the Music & Dance stacks (map).
BaletRussian-language ballet magazine focusing on scientific and theoretical writings on ballet dance, coupled with lush illustrations.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B22
Ballet ReviewBallet Review is a non-profit journal published by the Dance Research Foundation, Inc. It publishes articles reporting on historical dance studies, as well as stories about performers, choreographers, and dance companies.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B27
Ballet2000Ballet 2000 is a triligual (French, Italian, English) magazine covering ballet and contemporary dance in Europe. Includes, news, critical reviews, and stories about performers, choreographers, and dance companies.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B46
BYU Dance JournalThe BYU Dance Journal, an annual journal that publishes papers on dance or dance-related issues in the form of essays, academic papers, art, non-fiction, fiction, and poetry.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B74x
Dance AustraliaDance Australia is Australia's leading specialist magazine devoted to the art of dance. It covers ballet, contemporary dance, music theatre and dance education. The magazine is aimed at professional dancers, teachers, students and dance lovers, with a special section for young dancers. Dance Australia includes the latest news and gossip; profiles; in depth features about issues of concern to the artform; health, nutrition, training and performance advice from medical specialists; and reviews by critics who know their subject.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D2323
Dance BeatDance Beat Inc. was established in 1989 as a monthly dancesport newspaper. We report on all aspects of competitive dance in North America and major events worldwide. Issues include competition reviews, current events, industry press releases, helpful technical tips, interviews, costume fashion trends, regular columns, action photography, information on upcoming competitions and dance merchandise suppliers. We also print a current listing of professional dancers with their qualifications.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D2325 Quarto
The Dance Currenthe scoop, the action, the issues, the artists! Inclusive of all genres, The Dance Current is a magazine that takes the reader inside the art and culture of Canadian dance. Regular issues include artist profiles, interviews, feature articles, opinions and critical commentary from people in the profession, plus a calendar of events that keeps readers informed about upcoming performances.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D235
Dance: Current Selected ResearchAn international scholarly journal dedicated to dance education, with explorations into interdisciplinary studies between dance and other arts disciplines.
Call Number: MD 1582 .D35
Dance EuropeDance Europe magazine was founded in 1995 and is published 11 times per year in London. The digital version was available from January 2009 and the Spanish language version - Danza Europa was launched in October 2009. The editorial policy aims to provide an informed medium for the dance profession and its audiences. Many of the contributors are professional dancers or ex-dancers.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D237
Dance DynamicOur well established popular glossy colour monthly magazine covers all forms of dance. With everything of interest for the dancing world. Dance Dynamic appeals to all ages - readers include: dance and musical theatre audiences, group bookers, dancers, students, teachers, retailers. With a bright, fresh modern outlook, monthly we are packed with features. We cover theatrical + social dance events of all kinds worldwide with advance information, free gifts, previews, photographs, profiles of leading dance personalities, listings, reviews and much more....written and designed by experts.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D238
Dance International MagazineDance International Magazine focuses on classical and contemporary dance worldwide. In continuous publication for over 30 years, this quarterly dance magazine reflects the need for dance coverage without borders. With features on dancers, artistic directors, choreographers and photographers, critical commentaries, and reviews from all over the world, we celebrate the beauty of dance with each issue.
Call Number: MD 1580 .V3
DanceSport MagazineDanceSport Magazine is a quarterly, full-color publication dedicated to competitive partner dancing. Each issue of DanceSport Magazine is filled with informative articles about competitive ballroom dancing.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D3553
Dance Theatre JournalDance Theatre Journal is the UK's leading magazine for dance and live art. Published four times a year, Dance Theatre Journal contains reviews, features, interviews and in-depth discussions by leading dance writers and artists, as well as talented new writers. It also includes up-to-date listings of dance performances and workshops throughout the UK. Dance Theatre Journal is essential reading for anyone who wishes to stay up-to-date with current thinking in dance and the related arts.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D356
DanserDANCING is a French-language monthly general dance magazine which deals with all forms of dance. The magazine began in 1983, and covers ballet and contemporary dance, tango, jazz, and other world dances. This magazine will appeal to everyone, regardless of preferred choreographic expression.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D397
Discourses in DanceDiscourses in Dance is an international, peer-reviewed, bi-annual journal covering research in the field of dance and related areas. The Journal aims to promote the development of dance research in the international academic field. Articles address the rapidly expanding discipline of dance studies as it is developing through scholarly and artistic forms of dance research. The journal encourages the testing of new methodologies against existing paradigms and the examining of dance in relation to critical theories, cultural studies, and cognate disciplines.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D58
Irish Dancing & Culture Magazine (IDM)Take out a subscription to Irish Dancing & Culture International Magazine, which is the hottest monthly magazine for Irish dancers and enthusiasts. Each issue of a subscription to Irish Dancing & Culture International magazine includes interviews with Irish dancing stars, features on how to improve your dancing, tips on the best warm ups, fashion and beauty advice and much more! With each issue of a subscription, Irish Dancing & Culture International Magazine comes up with tips on the best warm ups, fitness and tips to improve your dancing. There are also a mix of features covering dance types, shoes, costumes and much more.
Movement Research Performance Journal (MRPJ)Started in 1990, the Performance Journal is a printed forum created by and for artists, fostering the evolution of written and graphic languages that contemplate current issues of dance and performance. Published twice annually, the Performance Journal provides a unique forum for critical rigor and a multi-disciplinary readership. Writings are specifically linked to events, artists, trends, and ideas associated with the current and upcoming performance season in New York, as well as nationally and internationally. The Performance Journal has focused on artists' of-the-moment concerns, with past topics including gender, environments, identity, technology, activism, dance writing and, most recently, an exploration of how contemporary dance negotiates with the larger culture, via a magazine format.
Call Number: MD 1580 .M68 Quarto
The Northwest FolkdancerNorthwest Folk Dancers, Inc. publishes a monthly magazine, The Northwest Folkdancer, containing articles and advertisements of interest to the folk dance community. One of the most popular features of The Northwest Folkdancer magazine is the listings of regular dances and classes and a separate comprehensive calendar of special events. The magazine also contains club news, ethnic recipes, dance descriptions, CD reviews, and other information helpful for dancers, teachers of folk dance, and anyone interested in the food, dances, costumes, and history of other cultures.
Call Number: MD 1580 .N67
Tanz: Zeitshrift für Ballett, Tanz und PerformanceTanz is the European magazine for ballet, dance and performance. It features the most important premieres and festivals, reports from the dance capitals of the world, writes portraits dancers, choreographers and teachers, discovers young talent in the dance scene, reports on the best schools and methods, and provides information about upcoming auditions, workshops and conferences.
Call Number: MD 1580 .T36
Was this page helpful to you?
Was this list of current dance periodicals helpful to you for your research or personal enrichment? Respond below!
Very helpful: 1 votes (100%)
Somewhat helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Not very helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Very unhelpful: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 1
Music & Dance Help Desk
4432 HBLL - Level 4 Music & Dance Web Page
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm