Print Dance Journals and Magazines
The journals and magazines listed below are available in print. Click on the periodical's title to link to information about the extent of the HBLL's holdings. Use the call number to locate the periodical in Music & Dance. Current issues may be found in the Music & Dance Reading Room. Back issues are bound together and can be found in the Music & Dance stacks.
-
Ballet Review
Ballet Review is a non-profit journal published by the Dance Research Foundation, Inc. It publishes articles reporting on historical dance studies, as well as stories about performers, choreographers, and dance companies.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B27 -
Ballet2000
Ballet 2000 is a triligual (French, Italian, English) magazine covering ballet and contemporary dance in Europe. Includes, news, critical reviews, and stories about performers, choreographers, and dance companies.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B46 -
Dance Today
Formerly the Ballroom Dancing Times, Dance Today has grown to encompass all elements of partner dance, from ballroom and Latin American, to salsa, tango, swing, sequence, and many more. The compact-sized glossy magazine includes interviews with leading dance stars, dancesport competition reports, informative features on health and nutrition, reviews of dance and musical theatre productions, books and DVDs, competition giveaways and a section of dance scripts as well as comprehensive listings for classes and events around the UK.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B55 -
Brolga: An Australian Journal about Dance
Brolga publishes current research and critical thinking about dance, including: dance artists—cutting edge and emerging practices; exploration of historical events, performances and people; discussions on dance and education; academic papers about philosophy, composition, criticism, music and costume for dance; and reviews of recent dance publications.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B66 -
BYU Dance Journal
The BYU Dance Journal, an annual journal that publishes papers on dance or dance-related issues in the form of essays, academic papers, art, non-fiction, fiction, and poetry.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B74x -
Contact Quarterly
CONTACT QUARTERLY, journal of dance, improvisation, performance, and contemporary movement arts is the longest living, independent, artist-made, not-for-profit, reader-supported magazine devoted to the dancer's voice. CQ is unique among dance periodicals in presenting the artist's voice in the artist words.
Call Number: MD 1580 .C66 -
Dance Australia
Dance Australia is Australia's leading specialist magazine devoted to the art of dance. It covers ballet, contemporary dance, music theatre and dance education. The magazine is aimed at professional dancers, teachers, students and dance lovers, with a special section for young dancers. Dance Australia includes the latest news and gossip; profiles; in depth features about issues of concern to the artform; health, nutrition, training and performance advice from medical specialists; and reviews by critics who know their subject.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D2323 -
Dance Beat
Dance Beat Inc. was established in 1989 as a monthly dancesport newspaper. We report on all aspects of competitive dance in North America and major events worldwide. Issues include competition reviews, current events, industry press releases, helpful technical tips, interviews, costume fashion trends, regular columns, action photography, information on upcoming competitions and dance merchandise suppliers. We also print a current listing of professional dancers with their qualifications.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D2325 Quarto -
The Dance Current
he scoop, the action, the issues, the artists! Inclusive of all genres, The Dance Current is a magazine that takes the reader inside the art and culture of Canadian dance. Regular issues include artist profiles, interviews, feature articles, opinions and critical commentary from people in the profession, plus a calendar of events that keeps readers informed about upcoming performances.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D235 -
Dance Europe
Dance Europe magazine was founded in 1995 and is published 11 times per year in London. The digital version was available from January 2009 and the Spanish language version - Danza Europa was launched in October 2009. The editorial policy aims to provide an informed medium for the dance profession and its audiences. Many of the contributors are professional dancers or ex-dancers.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D237 -
Dance Dynamic
Our well established popular glossy colour monthly magazine covers all forms of dance. With everything of interest for the dancing world. Dance Dynamic appeals to all ages - readers include: dance and musical theatre audiences, group bookers, dancers, students, teachers, retailers. With a bright, fresh modern outlook, monthly we are packed with features. We cover theatrical + social dance events of all kinds worldwide with advance information, free gifts, previews, photographs, profiles of leading dance personalities, listings, reviews and much more....written and designed by experts.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D238 -
Dance Research : the Journal of the Society for Dance Research
Dance Research, the Society for Dance Research's peer-reviewed journal, is published twice a year by Edinburgh University Press and contains articles and book reviews reflecting the range of members' interests. Dance Research is essential reading for those involved in the study and practice of dance. It is edited and published in Britain with the assistance of a distinguished group of editorial consultants based in Europe and the USA. The journal provides an international forum for the presentation and discussion of contemporary dance research and contains a section of comprehensive book and journal reviews.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D354x -
Dance Theatre Journal
Dance Theatre Journal is the UK's leading magazine for dance and live art. Published four times a year, Dance Theatre Journal contains reviews, features, interviews and in-depth discussions by leading dance writers and artists, as well as talented new writers. It also includes up-to-date listings of dance performances and workshops throughout the UK. Dance Theatre Journal is essential reading for anyone who wishes to stay up-to-date with current thinking in dance and the related arts.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D356 -
Dancing Times
Dancing Times, first published in 1894 as the house magazine of the Cavendish Rooms, London, a ballroom dancing establishment, is the oldest monthly devoted to dancing. Dancing Times continues its original stated policy to maintain the highest standards of criticism and illustration, give voice to leading authorities, encourage high standards of teaching, encourage awareness of dance history and stress the importance of dance in education.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D366x -
Discourses in Dance
Discourses in Dance is an international, peer-reviewed, bi-annual journal covering research in the field of dance and related areas. The Journal aims to promote the development of dance research in the international academic field. Articles address the rapidly expanding discipline of dance studies as it is developing through scholarly and artistic forms of dance research. The journal encourages the testing of new methodologies against existing paradigms and the examining of dance in relation to critical theories, cultural studies, and cognate disciplines.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D58 -
Movement, Dance and Drama: Quarterly Magazine of the Laban Guild
This quarterly magazine of the Laban Guild features articles on the application of Laban analysis to many areas of the Arts, life and work.
Call Number: MD 1580 .L22 -
Movement Research Performance Journal (MRPJ)
Started in 1990, the Performance Journal is a printed forum created by and for artists, fostering the evolution of written and graphic languages that contemplate current issues of dance and performance. Published twice annually, the Performance Journal provides a unique forum for critical rigor and a multi-disciplinary readership. Writings are specifically linked to events, artists, trends, and ideas associated with the current and upcoming performance season in New York, as well as nationally and internationally. The Performance Journal has focused on artists' of-the-moment concerns, with past topics including gender, environments, identity, technology, activism, dance writing and, most recently, an exploration of how contemporary dance negotiates with the larger culture, via a magazine format.
Call Number: MD 1580 .M68 Quarto -
NDD: l'actualité de la danse
NDD is a French-language journal published by Belgian dance association Contredanse, which seeks to support and stimulate the creation of choreography. NDD publishes relevant information to the public, amateurs, and professionals in the field of dance.
Call Number: MD 1580 .N68 Quarto -
Pulse
Pulse is the only magazine of its kind for South Asian Dance in the UK and internationally. The magazine is a rich source of information, opinion and insight; a vital point of contact and networking; an acknowledged reviewer of performance and a generator of debate. Pulse, which is primarily funded by Arts Council England, serves to highlight, that Britain is a happening place for South Asian dance and sets international trends in performance arts.
Call Number: MD 1580 .P85 -
Sacred Dance Guild Journal
The Sacred Dance Guild Journal is now published online twice a year for SDG members and contains articles by members and occasional guest writers. The Journal offers news and reports about current SDG activities, articles about the history and practice of sacred dance, profiles of members (both past and present), samples of choreography, images and illustrations, and much more.
Call Number: MD 1580 .S27 -
Tanz: Zeitshrift für Ballett, Tanz und Performance Tanz is the European magazine for ballet, dance and performance. It features the most important premieres and festivals, reports from the dance capitals of the world, writes portraits dancers, choreographers and teachers, discovers young talent in the dance scene, reports on the best schools and methods, and provides information about upcoming auditions, workshops and conferences.
Call Number: MD 1580 .T36 -
Dance International Magazine
Dance International Magazine focuses on classical and contemporary dance worldwide. In continuous publication for over 30 years, this quarterly dance magazine reflects the need for dance coverage without borders. With features on dancers, artistic directors, choreographers and photographers, critical commentaries, and reviews from all over the world, we celebrate the beauty of dance with each issue.
Call Number: MD 1580 .V3 -
Writings on Dance
A journal of analysis, commentary, theory of the moving body, Writings on Dance is committed to supporting alternative practices in dance and other arts through documentation, critical reflection, and commentary. It is primarily a journal by and for artists. However, it also invites the participation of and contributions from philosophy, cultural theory, anthropology and other disciplines with a view to exploring intersections between performance practices and contemporary cultural debates.
Call Number: MD 1580 .W74 -
Dance: Current Selected Research
An international scholarly journal dedicated to dance education, with explorations into interdisciplinary studies between dance and other arts disciplines.
Call Number: MD 1582 .D35