Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
JSTORJSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
Avery Index to Architecture (EBSCO)Coverage of international scholarly and popular periodical literature, professional associations, US state and regional publications, and major serial publications on architecture, design, archaeology, city and urban planning, interior design, and preservation. Indexes from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
May not systmeatically download and store copies of records from any Online Resource or use any record for commercial purposes.
May download or print single copies of records as long as a copyright notice is included.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970 Digital Archive (Gale)Original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states.
ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)Alternate title: American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database (EBSCO). A Religious Studies database. This database produced by the American Theological Library Association includes information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. References come from more than 600 journals and other sources and are in 35 languages. Includes several Mormon journals. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Tutorial Available
Bibliography of the History of Art - BHAAn Art History database. This database indexes and abstracts the current literature on the history of Western art. Includes books, articles, collected essays, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, museum publications, etc. Includes its two predecessors--RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) and the French RAA (repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie). Coverage is of works from late antiquity to the present.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)Coverage: 1861 - Current. With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
No systematic downloading of this database is allowed
Any copies of articles or other materials from this database must include appropriate citation information (title, author, publisher, copyright notice, etc.) and must be deleted when no longer in use.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)1955+ Indexes and abstracts scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
For personal, non-commercial, educational, and research purposes only.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (EBSCO)Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies, produced by NISC, is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. This database contains more than 332,790 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present. Over 12,000 records of recently published and grey literature are added annually. Subject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. MECAS includes the following: Middle East Bibliography (1946 - 2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations, MECAS Citations Database and School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900 - present).
Oxford Islamic Studies OnlineThis resource contains a wealth of information about Islam and the Muslim world. It includes many reference works on Islam, biographies, numerous primary sources and images, articles and book chapters by renowned scholars, Quranic materials and time lines.
Project MUSEIndexes the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Help Desks are closed, but you can still get help by clicking on the Chat box below, or by contacting the Visual Arts librarian.
Humanities Help Desk Level 5