ArtStorThis link opens in a new windowARTstor is a digital image database of nearly 700,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. It includes tools to manipulate the images for study and teaching. Collections include The Image Collection (key art works used in arts, humanities, social science studies); The Art History Survey collection (concordance of 13 standard art history survey texts); The Carnegie Arts of the United States (American visual arts and material culture); The Hartill Architectural Archive; The Huntington Archive of Asian Art; The Illustrated Bartsch (European prints from 15th-19th centuries); The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive of Chinese art; The MOMA Architecture and Design Archive; The Native American art and Culture from the Smithsonian Institute; and a large number of significant collections being added. For details and tutorials, consult the ARTstor research guide at: http://www.lib.byu.edu/subsutility/viewGuide.php?gid=432&nav=1
Images may be used for non-commercial, scholarly, and educational purposes.
Bridgeman EducationThis link opens in a new windowBridgeman Education is a complete visual resource offering over 1,000,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use. Bridgeman Education gives you access to the visual culture of every civilization and every period from Prehistory to the present day across continents and civilisations.
Images may not be used in anything that will be distributed or presented outside of BYU.
Oxford Art OnlineThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive encyclopedia of art, with authoritative and comprehensive reference sources for all visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, design, and decorative arts. Includes links to images from libraries and museums. Contains: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford, and The Dictionary of Art Terms. We have 8 simultaneous users.
DIGITAL IMAGE COLLECTIONS (websites)
K.A.C. Creswell Digitized Collection of Photographs in Archnet
Portal to millions of items from Europe's cultural collections in galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, etc. Contains images, texts, sound, and videos.
Saudi Aramco World Digital Image Archive provides free access, for educational purposes, to more than 40,000 historic and current images of the Middle East and the Islamic world. The website requires registration (no charge).
Open access listing of links to more than 50 websites of museums, libraries and other collections around the world that have digitized parts or all of their Islamic manuscripts and have made them accessible online.
The Islamic Art Virtual Museum (part of the Museum with No Frontiers project) has a searchable database with full descriptive entries and digital images of more than 1500 Islamic art objects from museums in 17 countries in Europe and the Middle East.
The Walters Art Museum (Baltimore, Md.) has a particularly fine collection of manuscripts from the Islamic world. The museum's virtual Islamic Manuscripts Gallery provides digital scans of 58 complete Islamic manuscripts, viewable cover-to-cover and downloadable. For more digitized manuscripts, see also The Digital Walters and the online exhibition Poetry and Prayer: Islamic Manuscripts from the Walters.
The Musée du Louvre houses one of the world's greatest collections of works of art from prehistoric times to the 19th century. The Louvre's Department of Islamic Art has over 2,000 of the museum's 18,000 Islamic art objects on display in the new Islamic galleries. The Louvre's web site provides access to several databases of digitized images of the collection, some with both French and English search interfaces.
Princeton University Library, which holds one of North America's richest collection of Islamic manuscripts (some 9,500 bound manuscripts, containing a total of more than 20,000 texts), has begun to make them available via the Princeton Digital Library of Islamic Manuscripts. Some 200 manuscripts have been digitized in the first phase of the project. The Shahnama Project at Princeton University is an online archive of book paintings illustrating the Persian national epic.
The Freer and Sackler Galleries (The Smithsonian's Museums of Asias Art) have one of the finest collections of Islamic art in the United States, with particular strengths in ceramics and illustrated manuscripts.
