Subject Guides: History 304: Secondary Sources (Articles)

Secondary Literature (Articles) for History 304

Recommended Indexes for European History & Politics

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1955+ Indexes and abstracts scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window 1975+ Indexes and abstracts 1,000 journals in political science and its complementary fields. Includes articles, dissertations, and book reviews. Updated monthly.
PAIS International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The PAIS International database contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Iter - Resources in European Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window Indexes citations of articles in over 600 journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

General and Multidisciplinary Indexes

Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window A citation index for the Arts & Humanities. Database coverage includes the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 to the present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. By logging into Google Scholar from off-campus, the library holdings will be integrated into your search results allowing you to quickly find the full-text of scholarly materials.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Indexes the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Alternate title: Research Library (ProQuest). This multi-disciplinary database includes more than 4,050 titles - nearly 2,800 in full text - from 1971 forward.

Newspaper Indexes

Factiva This link opens in a new window Global news and business information service including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, The Wall Street Journal, and thousands of other national and international newspapers in multiple languages. Also provides financial market data and company information.
No Systematic Downloading. Factiva may not be used for data mining, text mining, or trend analysis functions.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale) This link opens in a new window Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper, 1785-1985, is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Database Search Tips (MIT Libraries)

Database search tips and tricks include Boolean operators, truncation, keywords, subjects, fields, phrases and stop words. Quick tab-by-tab reference from MIT.

Google Scholar

Providing links to BYU holdings...

Contact Information

Matthew Hill

Email Me

Contact:

5447 HBLL
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602

801-422-2473

Subjects: Area Studies, History & Geography, Languages & Literature

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

RefWorks

You can easily input (and format) journal articles, books, websites, and other resources for your paper !

Use

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that helps you collect and organize citations and access them from any computer with a Web connection.

RefWorks will even take your list and generate a bibliography of references, using APA, MLA, or any other format you select.

When gathering records from other databases, look for instructions for how to directly export your records to RefWorks.