Subject Guides: History 304: Historical Newsmedia

Newsmedia

European newspapers, news magazines and other news outlets.

Historical News Archives

ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online Historical Austrian newspapers and magazines online (1716 - 1938)

British Library Online Newspaper Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

Danske aviser Danish newspapers, both indexes and some full-text online facsimiles.
Digital French-Language Newspaper Portal
German-Language Newspaper Access in North America
Hemeroteca Digital (Portugal) Digital collection of historical newspapers and journals from Portugal.
Hemeroteca Digital (Spain) Database of historical newspapers and journals digitized by the National Library.
Historical Newspaper Archive (Finland) All Finnish newspapers published from 1771 - 1890 have now been digitized.
Historic German Newspapers Online
Timarit (Iceland) Title-browsable page of Timarit, digitized list of Icelandic-language newspapers (18th to 20th centuries).

Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale) This link opens in a new window Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper, 1785-1985, is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

News Indexes

Factiva This link opens in a new window Global news and business information service including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, The Wall Street Journal, and thousands of other national and international newspapers in multiple languages. Also provides financial market data and company information.
No Systematic Downloading. Factiva may not be used for data mining, text mining, or trend analysis functions.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990.

Newslink Newslink provides links to newspapers, magazines, radio, and TV networks both domestic and foreign.

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
CRL's Foreign Newspapers Database This link opens in a new window CRL's Foreign Newspapers Database provides access to The Center for Research Libraries' collection of more than 6,000 newspaper titles published outside the United States. Holdings from the various Area Study Microform Projects are included.

Current News (also see sidebar widgets)

BBC News
more...less...
In-depth coverage of the world's news, available in 33 languages, from the British Broadcasting Corporation, the largest news broadcaster in the world.
Dutch and Flemish News
European News
French News
German Language News

Google News This link opens in a new window Search and browse 25,000 news sources updated continuously.

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu