Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Source Search
You can locate records for primary sources within the HBLL catalog by using the specific keyword "sources" within the "subject" field.
By combining that word with other relevant terms elsewhere, e.g., "French Revolution" you can can find relevant primary sources lurking in the Harold B. Lee Library.
These may include diaries, manuscripts, transcriptions, translations and other items considered to be primary sources.
Searching for your Text in the BYU Catalog
Alphabetical searching, call number searching, etc. of the library collection can be done here along with keyword searching.
Other Libraries - Try WorldCat
Search catalogs of other libraries. You can search specific libraries (academic or public) or national consortia of libraries such as Worldcat.
Once you identify books from other libraries, you can order them online, through Interlibrary Loan Services. Fill out an online request for the materials, and be sure to allow enough time for arrival (about a week).
Primary European Historical Sources Online
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP) This link opens in a new window
A Historical Primary Source database. This database includes diaries and letters from British and Irish women. All types of women's diaries are included. Features the writings of famous as well as "ordinary" women of the time period. Covers 300 years of personal writings.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) - Texts This link opens in a new window
2,400 searchable and readable editions of EEBO documents that link immediately to the corresponding image files.
Early English Books Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125,000 titles published between 1475-1700. Combining the listings of the major short-title catalogs, EEBO includes publications in all subjects: literature, religion, government, medicine, science, and music. EEBO provides the facsimile of each work, so researchers can study these publications as they appeared: books printed by William Caxton, the earliest editions of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales, The Book of Common Prayer (1549), The King James Bible (1611), Shakespeare's First Folio (1623), and works by Erasmus, Sir Isaac Newton, Bacon, Sir Thomas More, Galileo, as well as acts of Parliament, government documents on the early slave trade, and musical exercises by Henry Purcell.
Eisenhower Communiques This link opens in a new window
From BYU Digital Collections: WWII Daily Battle Communiques searchable by personal and city names
EuroDocs This link opens in a new window
EuroDocs : Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe connect to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history.
First World War: Personal Experiences This link opens in a new window
This digital resource brings to life the reality of the First World War for the men and women who experienced it firsthand. Containing digital images of a wide range of original documents, including diaries, letters, personal narratives, trench journals, scrapbooks, objects, and a wealth of visual sources, this resource provides a rich seam of information on personal experiences of war. From Adam Matthew Digital.
First World War: Visual Perspectives and Narratives This link opens in a new window
This collection from Adam Matthew showcases an array of primary source material sourced from the Imperial War Museum in London. Main themes include the role of women during the war, the Home Front and international perspectives conveyed through a rich selection of visual and documentary material.
French Political Pamphlets This link opens in a new window Holocaust Collection This link opens in a new window
From primary documents of the National Archives and the US Holocaust Memorial Museum...
Internet Medieval Sourcebook This link opens in a new window
Internet Medieval Sourcebook contains hundreds of texts covering, among many others: The End of the Classical World; Byzantium; Islam; Christendom; the Middle Ages; the Reformation; the Crusades; Monasticism; the Renaissance.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook This link opens in a new window
Internet Modern History Sourcebook is one of series of history primary sourcebooks. It is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in modern European history and American history, as well as in modern Western Civilization and World Cultures. Although this part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project began as a way to access texts that were already available on the Internet, it now contains hundreds of texts made available locally.
The Making of the Modern World (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Alternate title: Making of the Modern World (Gale). "The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850" provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new window
MGH is a corpus of historical works, charters, legal texts, letters, political texts, and literature from the European Middle Ages.
Olms Online This link opens in a new window
Es handelt sich um Nachdrucke, die von Herausgebern mit Vor-, Nach- oder Geleitworten, Registern oder Indizes versehen wurden. Hier finden Sie etwa 400 Bande mit den Schwerpunkten Philosophie und Germanistik. Die Buchhandelskataloge, auch als Messkataloge bezeichnet, bieten einen einzigartigen Uberblick uber die deutsche und auch europaische Buchproduktion von fast 300 Jahren (1594-1860).
Oral History Online (ASP) This link opens in a new window
In-depth indexing to more than 1,800 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. The database is updated regularly. By the end of the 2004, it will point to 300,000 pages of full text, 2,500 collections, 600 video files, and 1,600 audio files --- and it will continue to grow year by year.
Testaments to the Holocaust (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Electronic holdings of the Wiener Library in London, England. These holdings also include publications of the Wiener Library. The collection includes Nazi propaganda materials; Hitler Youth materials; pamphlets, books; and a rare encyclopedia of anti-Semitism. The core of the collection is 1,200 eyewitness accounts dealing with the pogrom of 1938 through the scope of the Holocaust. Also included are photographic materials.
World War I Document Archive This link opens in a new window
World War I document archive of primary documents from World War I has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). The archive is international in focus and intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm