Helpful Call Numbers / Suggested Books
ML 338 -- Music History and Criticism by region, India
ML 533 -- Instruments and Instrumental Music, India
ML 419 -- Biographies of musicians (Shankar, etc.) in alphabetical order
ML 3748 -- National Music, India
ML 5 .S75 -- Sruti: periodical about music in India (available in print from 2006 to present) Sruti also available from 2013- in the International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance database.
-
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window IBTD is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Full text access is available to over 490 titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books and monographs.
-
Music in North India
by
A representative overview of the music of North India, discussing rhythm and drumming traditions, song composition and performance styles, melodic and rhythmic instruments.
Call Number: ML 338 .R82 M87 2004ISBN: 9780195139938Publication Date: 2003-12-11 -
The Emergence of the Hindustani Tradition
by
The essays in this book constitute an extensive study of the musical arts of north India from the 13th to the 19th centuries. Using material from several languages – Sanskrit, Awadhi, Braj-Bhasha, Persian and Urdu – they trace the varied developments in the musical arts and show how Indian, Central Asian, and Perso-Arab performance traditions underwent synthesis to become one tradition – the north Indian Hindustani tradition.
Call Number: ML 338.2 .T74 E43 2012ISBN: 9788188789771Publication Date: 2012 -
Hindustani Music: 13th to 20th Centuries
by
This collection of twenty-five essays by prominent scholars provides a major overview of the history of Hindustani music from the thirteenth to the twentieth centuries, and the sources that make up this history. The essays are thematically arranged into five parts: (1) The Formative Period; (2) The Modern Period; (3) Musical Instruments; (4) Indian Music and the west, and (5) Concepts and Theories.
Call Number: ML 338.5 .S95 B67 2010ISBN: 9788173047589Publication Date: 2010 -
The Classical Music of North India
by
This is a book of and about the classical music of North India, among the oldest continual musical traditions of the world. Presented here is a small part of the musical legacy of one of the foremost families which has preserved and collected this ancient music and developed it to the highest standards: the Baba Allauddin Gharana of the Seni tradition. This volume introduces the great richness and variety of the different styles of music as taught by one of the century's greatest musicians, Ali Akbar Khan.
Call Number: MT 32 .R82 C52 2001 vol.1ISBN: 812150872XPublication Date: 2004-12-01 -
Singing a Hindu Nation
by
Explores how the political becomes devotional through music performance. A rare glimpse into the lives and performance worlds of nationalists on the margins of all-India political parties and cultural organizations.
Call Number: ML 3748.7 .M34 S38 2013ISBN: 9780199730834Publication Date: 2012-12-13 -
Elementary North Indian Vocal
by
Call Number: MT 855 .C68 E44 2015ISBN: 9781893644083Publication Date: 2015-02-27Learn about North Indian vocal music AND learn how to sing in this style. Includes CD. -
Instruments in Hindustani Classical Music
by
Indian instruments from Vedic to present day; Classification of instruments; Biographies of eminent musicians; Electronic Media; students, artists and more.
Call Number: ML 533 .C42 I57 2012ISBN: 9788184573329Publication Date: 2012
Performing Arts Librarian
Websites
University of London (SOAS) : guide to the music of India.