ArtStorThis link opens in a new windowARTstor is a digital image database of nearly 700,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. It includes tools to manipulate the images for study and teaching. Collections include The Image Collection (key art works used in arts, humanities, social science studies); The Art History Survey collection (concordance of 13 standard art history survey texts); The Carnegie Arts of the United States (American visual arts and material culture); The Hartill Architectural Archive; The Huntington Archive of Asian Art; The Illustrated Bartsch (European prints from 15th-19th centuries); The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive of Chinese art; The MOMA Architecture and Design Archive; The Native American art and Culture from the Smithsonian Institute; and a large number of significant collections being added. For details and tutorials, consult the ARTstor research guide at: http://www.lib.byu.edu/subsutility/viewGuide.php?gid=432&nav=1
Images may be used for non-commercial, scholarly, and educational purposes.
Bridgeman EducationThis link opens in a new windowBridgeman Education is a complete visual resource offering over 1,000,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use. Bridgeman Education gives you access to the visual culture of every civilization and every period from Prehistory to the present day across continents and civilisations.
Images may not be used in anything that will be distributed or presented outside of BYU.
Many in-print volumes unavailable in the online version of CVA are available in the HBLL Ancient Studies Room on level 5. Search the Library Catalog under Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum.
Classical Art Research Center projects include: Beazley Archive, Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum Online, Corpus Signorum Imperii Romani, and Gandhara Connections. The Beazley Archive contains the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.
3D digital models illustrating the urban development of ancient Rome from the first settlement in the late Bronze Age (ca. 1000 B.C.) to the depopulation of the city in the early Middle Ages (ca. A.D. 550).
Trajan's Column is a site designed to the Column of Trajan as a sculptural monument. The core of the site is a searchable database of over 500 images focusing on various aspects of the design and execution of the column's sculptural decoration. The images (slides and drawings) were generated by sculptor Peter Rockwell, over the course of his study of Roman stone-carving practices.
