It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Indian Histories and CulturesThis link opens in a new windowExplore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals. From Adam Matthew.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Manuscript, book, and newspaper content in the areas of Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and women's rights ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)This link opens in a new windowThe Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. Founded in 1949, CRL supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions.
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969This link opens in a new windowAlternate title: Latin America: Confidential Print, 1833-1969. Confidential Print: Latin America, from Adam Matthew and Archives Direct, covers the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s. Covering revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples, amongst other topics, the files in this title form a vital resource for any scholar of Latin American history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture (Gale)This link opens in a new windowCrime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 presents a broad history of crime in the long 19th century derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources. The collection includes trial transcripts, court proceedings, police and forensic documents, photographs, true crime literature and detective novels, and newspaper accounts. This archive appeals to scholars in the fields of history, literature, law and criminal justice, as well as other fields.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (ASP)This link opens in a new windowEarly Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850. The database includes prints, drawings, paintings, maps, bibliographies, letters, photographs, and original facsimiles.
Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958 (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThis collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.
Latin Americanist Research Resources ProjectThis link opens in a new windowIncludes access to following databases: Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) - a searchable database of the tables of contents of more than 800 journals published in Latin America; Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP) - provides access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America by research institutes, nongovernmental organizations, and peripheral agencies; Presidential Message - contains digital images of more than 75,000 pages of Mexican and Argentinian presidential speeches from the early 19th century to the present.
Public Life in Contemporary Argentina (Gale)This link opens in a new windowVida Publican en la Argentina Contemporanea presents an extensive grassroots view of Argentina and the recent social and political changes that have taken place there. Material on Argentine society and politics beginning with the year 1996 and running to the present.
Sabin Americana Digital Archive (Gale)This link opens in a new windowBased on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007This link opens in a new windowThis resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Adam Matthew.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (Gale)This link opens in a new windowA rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.
Cartas de Luis Emilio Recabarren a Alberto Martínez (1912-1920)
Construcción del Estado en La Araucanía
Correspondencia de Luis Emilio Recabarren a Alberto Martínez. Iquique, 1912-1915
Creación de Escuelas en Chile (1860-1920)
Expansión ferroviaria en Chile
Historia de Chile a través de documentos del Archivo Nacional
Matanza de la Escuela de Santa María de Iquique en 1907
Mujeres "al monte" en Chile colonial: historias de fugas, anhelos y amor
Publicidad del salitre en el mundo
The cities portrayed on these maps were not at all alike.
Some of the smaller and more out-of-the-way places--Oaxaca and Puno, for example--still had the morphology of late colonial cities. In Spanish-speaking Latin America, this meant that city streets were built on a simple grid centered on a plaza surrounded by governmental and religious buildings. The non-Spanish-speaking cities were similar but less uniform in their street pattern. (Cuzco and to a much smaller extent Mexico City were the only substantial cities whose form was influenced by pre-colonial Amerindian settlements.)
Jeffrey R. Parsons was Curator of Latin American Archaeology and Director of the Museum of Anthropology at the University of Michigan. He was a professor at the same institution for over forty years starting in 1966 and carried out extensive research on settlement patterns in the basin of Mexico, in Peru, and in many other countries. Parsons is known for his role in the development of systematic settlement survey methods in archaeology, a methodology which has become common in archaeological work around the world. Material in the collection include papers, maps, site surveys, photo negatives, aerial photographs and digital scans of the negatives.
Registered users will be able to search or browse DEMCA's resources through linguistic means (e.g, Indigenous nomenclature, the semantics of plant and animal names), project or community filters, functional uses (e.g, fencing, ointments), collection data (e.g., altitude), and Western nomenclature (e.g, by binomial name, browsing by genus). Eventually users will be able to tag entries, create and store records in personalized databases, and download these sets of linked entries to their computer. Audio recordings of narratives and discussions in Indigenous languages on local flora and fauna will be accessible through continuous or line-by-line playback and the contents will be displayed in transcription and translation (Spanish) formats. Eventually video will be incorporated.