Subject Guides: Latin American Studies: News

News Databases @ HBLL

BBC News
more...less...
In-depth coverage of the world's news, available in 33 languages, from the British Broadcasting Corporation, the largest news broadcaster in the world.
EcoAméricas
A monthly report on development and the environment in Latin America.

Factiva This link opens in a new window Global news and business information service including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, The Wall Street Journal, and thousands of other national and international newspapers in multiple languages. Also provides financial market data and company information.
No Systematic Downloading. Factiva may not be used for data mining, text mining, or trend analysis functions.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries
Latin American Newsstand (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Previously known as Latin American Newsstand, it is now called "Latin American Newsstream" by ProQuest and has been separated from "U.S. Hispanic Newsstream." This link searches both Latin American and U.S. Hispanic Newsstreams simultaneously.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of the most recent 30 days of business news wires from all over the world. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic, and other diverse, international news events. Updated daily.
US Hispanic Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window US Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English.

News Digests

Latin America Weekly Report
Click on "OpenURL (SFX)" at the bottom of the page to access the digital version of the newsletter.
Latin American Regional Report: Andean Group
Our Regional Reports are designed for those whose primary focus is on particular countries or groups of countries. We have four Regional Reports, each one published monthly, covering:

Brazil & Southern Cone
Mexico
Caribbean & Central America
Andean Group

Each of these reports draws relevant coverage from Latin American Economy & Business and Latin American Security & Strategic Review, with some additional contextual analysis. This is the perfect service for those who interests are focused on one particular country or group of countries. You can get the full benefit of LatinNews’ expertise, from our core services, but filtered for the areas of critical interest to you.
Latin American Regional Report: Brazil & Southern Cone
Latin American Regional Report: Caribbean & Central America
Latin American Regional Report: Mexico

Americas Quarterly (ISSN: 1936-797x). Look for it in Journal Finder!

NY Times: World News: Americas (below)

CEPAL/ECLAC (Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean) (below)