Subject Guides: Latin American Studies: Article Databases & Journals

Multidisciplinary Databases at HBLL

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
Fuente Academica Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Provides PDF full text for more 570 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window 1970+ Indexes 400+ journals published in and about Latin America. Updated annually.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations about literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Indexes the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Humanities Databases @ HBLL

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window A citation index for the Arts & Humanities. Database coverage includes the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 to the present.

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.

Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale) This link opens in a new window Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture A great general encyclopedia about Latin America.

Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window The Literary Encyclopedia is a reference work written by scholars and university teachers around the world. It is also a unique digital environment designed to integrate current knowledge of literature and culture and facilitate the understanding of historical contexts and connections.
Literary Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Content includes thousands of plot summaries, essays of literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, and author interviews.
Literature Criticism Online LCO (Gale) This link opens in a new window Essays in literary criticism that represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)(Gale) This link opens in a new window Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, critical analysis, and Web resources of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Literature This link opens in a new window

Social Science Databases @ HBLL

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1955+ Indexes and abstracts scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window IBSS includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
PAIS International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The PAIS International database contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
ProQuest Social Science Journals This link opens in a new window This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 500 important social science journals.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI): Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanitites Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 8,500 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, citedwork, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic.

Scientific Databases @ HBLL

Medic Latina (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 125 periodicals, including over 50 peer-reviewed medical journals. Includes material in English and Portuguese as well.

Open Access Databases (Peer-reviewed scholarship free on the Internet)

Biblioteca Virtual de CLACSO La Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales CLACSO is a digital repository for peer-reviewed, open access scholarship. PDF articles and books available, though this site emphasizes books.
more...less...
CLACSO stands for Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales/Conselho Latino-americano de Ciências Sociais.
Dialnet Dialnet es un proyecto de colaboración bibliotecaria abierto a la participación de cualquier biblioteca que quiera comprometerse con el proyecto, siendo el principal objetivo unir esfuerzos para ofrecer una serie de recursos y servicios de calidad para usuarios, bibliotecas, autores y editores de revistas. Uno de los principales objetivos de Dialnet consiste en aumentar la difusión, visibilidad y accesibilidad de la literatura científica hispana, potenciando el acceso libre a la misma. Las revistas son incluidas en Dialnet por las instituciones colaboradoras, que deciden qué revistas indexar, ya sean electrónicas o en papel.
Latindex Latindex es un sistema de Información sobre las revistas de investigación científica, técnico-profesionales y de divulgación científica y cultural que se editan en los países de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal.
more...less...
http://www.latindex.org/latindex/descripcion
Portal CLACSO-REDALYC El portal CLACSO-REDALYC ofrece acceso abierto e indicadores de 754 revistas de ciencias sociales y humanidades de Iberoamérica (278.709 artículos). Esta colección recibe más de 4 millones de descargas por mes.
Redalyc (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal) The Redalyc project (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y El Caribe, España y Portugal) is a bibliographic database and a digital library of Open Access journals, supported by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México with the help of numerous other higher education institutions and information systems.
more...less...
Coverage areas: http://www.redalyc.org/coleccionHome.oa
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) is a bibliographic database, digital library, and cooperative electronic publishing model of open access journals. SciELO was created to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries and provides an efficient way to increase visibility and access to scientific literature. Coverage includes Humanities and Social Sciences.

Individual Journal Titles: Social Sciences

Historia Mexicana (Colegio de México) Historia Mexicana es la revista del Centro de Estudios Históricos de El Colegio de México. Fundada en 1951, constituye una de las más antiguas revistas mexicanas especializadas en la indagación del pasado. La revista Historia Mexicana es un referente ineludible para la investigación histórica de México y América Latina. A lo largo de más de seis décadas se ha mantenido fiel al objetivo propuesto por sus fundadores: publicar trabajos originales basados en investigaciones del más alto nivel académico, para de este modo contribuir a la difusión, actualización y renovación del conocimiento histórico del pasado mexicano y latinoamericano. La revista Historia Mexicana tiene una periodicidad trimestral y en sus páginas se publican artículos, reseñas de libros y ensayos críticos sobre fuentes documentales y obras históricas. De manera ocasional publica números monográficos y dossier temáticos.
Latin American Research Review (U of Pittsburgh) he Latin American Research Review (LARR) publishes original research and review essays on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latina/Latino studies. LARR covers the social sciences and the humanities, including the fields of anthropology, economics, history, literature and cultural studies, political science, and sociology. The journal reviews and publishes papers in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. All papers, except for book and documentary film review essays, are subject to double-blind peer review. LARR, the academic journal of the Latin American Studies Association, has been in continuous publication since 1965.
more...less...
Back content for this journal from 1965 to 2012 can be found on JSTOR. Content from 2003 to 2016 is available at Project Muse. Back content is available on the LASA website to LASA members.
Trashumante: Revista Americana de Historia Social Trashumante. Revista Americana de Historia Social es una publicación semestral creada por la iniciativa y el apoyo del Grupo de Investigación en Historia Social (GIHS) de la Facultad de Ciencias Sociales y Humanas de la Universidad de Antioquia (Medellín, Colombia) y por la División de Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades de la Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana (UAM), Unidad Cuajimalpa (Ciudad de México). La revista se ha constituido como un medio para la difusión de contribuciones a la historiografía social en sus múltiples acepciones académicas.

Bibliographies

Biblio Caribe A list of sources about the Caribbean compiled on Zotero.
Handbook of Latin American Studies 1932-1995. Indexes and abstracts scholarly evaluations of books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published worldwide in the field of Latin American Studies.

Websites

ECLAC/CEPAL (Economic Commission for Lat. Am. and Caribbean) [U.N.] The Economic Commission for Latin America (ECLAC) -CEPAL in Spanish & Portuguese- is one of the five regional commissions of the UN. It was founded with the purpose of contributing to the economic development of Latin America, coordinating actions directed towards this end, reinforcing economic ties among countries and with other nations of the world, and promoting the region's social development.
more...less...
Page also available in Spanish and Portuguese
H-Maps H-Maps is an international digital forum in the historical study of the making, circulation, use and preservation of maps from the ancient to the contemporary period. Because of its international nature, H-Maps welcomes contributions in world languages, including (but not limited to) English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, and German. H-Maps is a collaboration between the International Society for the History of the Map (ISHMap, Twitter @ishmap1) and H-Net to further substantive inquiry among a growing number of global scholars with an interest in the history of maps and mapping.
LANIC (U.T. Austin) LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 10,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet.
Latin American Business Environment Report Annual reports produced by the University of Florida Center for Latin American Studies. Link also has other publications besides this report.
Panoramas Scholarly Platform (U of Pittsburgh) "Panoramas" is hosted by the University of Pittsburgh’s Center for Latin American Studies, a center within the University Center for International Studies. The idea of Panoramas was to create a space to foster academic discussion about Latin America. Panoramas accepts submissions of academic quality in various formats--written, video, audio, and photographic. We strongly encourage discussion amongst our readers and contributors.
more...less...
Access to the Latin American Research Review (LARR), the official journal of LASA, as well as the LARR Blog is available through this page.
H-México (UNAM) H-México es un grupo virtual que desde 1995 reúne a historiadores, profesionales de disciplinas afines, estudiantes universitarios y en general todas las personas con un interés formal y especializado en la historia de México. Nuestro grupo acepta todas las corrientes historiográficas y pretende fomentar el intercambio de ideas en un ambiente de tolerancia y respeto mutuos.