Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Humanities: DH Resources

Primary Sources

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) aggregates cultural heritage content digitized by local partners. The DPLA Apps Library features tools to browse and visualize DPLA content.

HathiTrust
HathiTrust offers access to millions of books digitized from libraries around the world.

HBLL Digital Collections
The Harold B. Lee Library has digitized thousands of historic photographs, newspapers, diaries, and books. Faculty: to request the digitization of a particular manuscript collection or series of published materials (books newspapers, serials) in the HBLL's collection, contact Elizabeth Smart (elizabeth_smart@byu.edu).

Internet Archive
The Internet Archive provides access to millions of digitized books, music, and software. Faculty: to request the digitization of published materials in the HBLL's collection (and also in the public domain), contact Elizabeth Smart (elizabeth_smart@byu.edu).

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg features more than 50,000 digitized books. Access a machine-readable database of all titles via the site's Feeds page (see The Complete Project Gutenberg Catalog).

Registry of Research Data Repositories (merged with Databib)
Search or browse the Registry for data sets in multiple academic disciplines.

Journals

Digital Humanities Now
Digital Humanities Now is an experimental, edited publication that highlights and distributes informally published digital humanities scholarship and resources from the open web.

Digital Humanities Quarterly
Digital Humanities Quarterly (DHQ) is an open access, peer-reviewed, digital journal covering all aspects of digital media in the humanities and published by the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations.

Digital Medievalist
Digital Medievalist is an international web-based Community of Practice for medievalists working with digital media. Established in 2003, the project helps medievalists by providing a network for technical collaboration and instruction, exchange of expertise, and the development of best practice.

Digital Scholarship in the Humanities
Digital Scholarship in the Humanities (formerly titled Literary and Linguistic Computingis an international journal which publishes material on all aspects of computing and information technology applied to literature and language research and teaching.

Journal of Digital Humanities
The Journal of Digital Humanities (JDH) is a comprehensive, peer-reviewed, open access journal that features the best scholarship, tools, and conversations produced by the digital humanities community in the previous trimester.

Literary and Linguistic Computing
See entry for Digital Scholarship in the Humanities.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Photo
Elizabeth Smart
Contact:
801-422-4995
5452 HBLL