Subject Guides: Management Literature: Background Research

Background Research

Find an introduction to a topic, get context, or find handbooks, guides, specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, or bibliographies.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Management This link opens in a new window
Combines the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia to guide today's researchers to the best scholarship in management.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
GVRL is a large collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources. Includes the Business Plans Handbook, International Directory of Company Histories, and more.
Oxford Handbooks - Business This link opens in a new window
Essays on the latest thinking in a range of topics in business and management.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
The place to go for an introduction to any topic in economics. Includes biographies and bibliographies.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Collects articles, statistics, and editorials to present both sides of hot topics.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) This link opens in a new window
Perfect for students interested in academic careers or for faculty who’d like a refresher, Sage Research Methods helps teach qualitative and quantitative research methods. Content includes:
• Videos teaching the research process
• Instruction manuals for statistical analysis (the QASS “Little Green Books”)
• Case studies and sample research projects
• Practice datasets
• Research Project Planner

Topics and Trends by Major
Stay on top of the latest trends in your industry or profession. This guide contains links to key publications, organized by major.

Bibliographic utilities can help you gather, organize, and store your research. They can also create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.