Subject Guides: Grant Writing: Managing a Grant

Post Award Management

After all of the effort expended to obtain funding, the post award work requires significant time and energy as well. The following links offer general information about post award processes. While some links are from specific agencies, glancing at several of them will give you an idea of best/common practices.

Advice for Managing Your Grant (NIAID) This website offers several tips on how to manage your award and maintain a positive working relationship with your.
Award Management (NIH) This NIH website provides a helpful overview on the process of awarding a grant and the responsibilities of the NIH participants. Their list of actions includes steps from directly after the peer review process through closeout and record retention.
The Grantsmanship Center-Managing the Grant This training program helps evaluate and organize private and non-profit groups to better help the communities they serve. This section of their website focuses on the establishment of effective accounting practices and systems. Additionally, the program takes you through reviewing the grant proposal, making sense of the rules and regulations, and scheduling reports.
How to Manage Your Award (NSF) This site cites links to all organizations involved with NSF grants and their respective policies including The Award and Administration Guide, The Policy Office, the Division of Grants and Agreements, and the Federal Demonstration Partnership.
How to Manage Your Grant (NIAID) This page from NIAID’s Research Funding website features detailed steps on how to manage a grant and meet specific requirements, especially for those working in a domestic institution. It describes also how to communicate any changes in your research.
Post-Award Administration (UCLA) This booklet is intended to prepare you for common problems and interactions that occur with post-award administrations and how to successfully and effectively manage the awarded project and its funds.

Data Management

Many funders now require a data management plan when submitting proposals. Some funders require researchers to make their data available in an open access repository. The information provided under the various tabs in this box directs you to resources that will help you manage your data successfully.

Data Best Practices (Stanford) The Stanford University Library provides links to pages that provide detailed information necessary for a solid and well-organized data management.
Data Management (Notre Dame) The University of Notre Dame Hesburg Library developed a helpful guide to take you through the tools needed for data management including answering common questions, identifying data management needs, providing planning tools, sharing and archiving data, and citing data.
Data Management Planning (Cornell) Cornell University created a research data management service group that extends assistance for all stages of the research process. This link takes you to their Data Management Planning section where a general guide describes the key areas necessary to write a data management plan.
Nine Simple Ways to Make it Easier to (Re)use Your Data This document from PeerJ is a result of a collaboration of Utah State University faculty in recommending methods for reusing data to make it easier to work with. Additionally, the paper covers how to make data easier to understand, analyze, and share with a variety of sources.

Researchers can upload publications, presentations, and research data to ScholarsArchive, BYU's open access repository. This is a great option for researchers who need to store data as part of funding requirements.

If you have questions about the repository that are not answered on the following links, contact scholarsarchive@byu.edu or the subject librarian for your discipline.

Scholars Archive Main Webpage This site is BYU’s collection of the scholarly and creative productions of their students and faculty. Through this site, researchers from around the world have access to BYU faculty and student research, publications, data, and journals.
Scholarly Communication This site helps you to learn how to create an account, submit articles or data to ScholarsArchive, look at BYU Copyright Licensing Information, and see Terms of Use.
ScholarsArchive Data Do you need to store data for grant requirements or other reasons? One option for data storage at BYU is HBLL’s ScholarsArchive, an open access research repository offering free, long-term storage space for research data. Contact scholarsarchive@byu.edu for more information.

Data Management Template (BYU ORCA) This is a data management plan outline provided by ORCA.
Data Management Planning (DMP) Tool The Data Management Planning Tool helps create, review, and share data management plans. It also provides sample data management plans and the latest news about data management plans.

When researchers make their data available to the public, they are often asked to provide metadata (or data about data). Metadata helps others know when and where data was collected, what variables represent within the dataset, what instruments were used to collect data, etc.

Metadata for Data Management Tutorial (UNC) The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill provides a basic tutorial to explain metadata, how to describe research data, and best practices in assigning metatdata.
Creating Metadata (Stanford) This section of Stanford’s Research Support guide defines metadata and provides free tools to assist in metadata creation.
Creating Metadata A service of the Ontario Council of University Libraries, Scholars Portal provides a helpful guide in research data tips. The service includes tools for creating metadata for datasets, metadata examples, and a subject guide by the Data Services Metadata Librarian.

Metadata Tools (Stanford) Describes several software tools that can assist the development of metadata for research projects.

Reporting

General Grant Reporting

Guidelines from GRANTS.GOV This site helps make sense of the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act government-wide reporting procedure. It gives a chart to layout the reporting process in sequential order and provides information for questions you may have and important forms you may not understand.

NEH Reporting

Financial Reporting Requirements This helpful section of the NEH Grant Management site details the list of report due dates as part of each NEH grant and how to submit all the required forms.
Performance Reporting Requirements This document covers most awards granted by the NEH and includes sources for potential problems, general reporting requirements, and a detailed list regarding the purpose and format of writing reports.

NSF Reporting

Grant Administration Report Specifications The NSF provides this link with specific directions for NSF grants. The topics covered include: Monitoring Project Performance, Changes in Project Direction or Management, Changes in the Grant Budget, Cost Sharing, Technical Reporting Requirements, and Records Retention and Audit.

NIH Reporting

Post Award Monitoring & Reporting
Non-Competing Continuation Progress Report This website provides instructions and forms needed to complete non-competing progress reports for funded projects associated with NIH or the broader U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Progress Reports for Multi-year Funded Awards The NIH provides guidelines and answers to frequently asked questions regarding the background, submission, and post submission of a MYF award.

NIJ Reporting

Post Award Reporting Requirements The NIJ requires submitting several reports after a project is funded. Their site here provides details of each of the different kinds of forms including progress reports, financial reports, technical reports, and financial audits.

NAID Reporting

Overview of Reporting Requirements (NAID) This link covers the whole award process. Towards the bottom, there is an detailed overview of NIH reporting requirements.