RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowRILM covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more. Coverage begins with publications from 1967 and continues through the present. Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) is a comprehensive bibliography of writings on music, serving the global music research community. Today RILM has over 600,000 records in 214 languages from 151 countries.
Music Periodicals (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowIIMP is a music journal resource with more than 770,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to the present, covering the scholarly to the popular. This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 770,000 records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
Music Index (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowMusic Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals. The comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both novice and scholar.
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Online Archive with Full Text (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowRIPM was established to provide access to eighteenth-, nineteenth- and twentieth-century periodical literature dealing with music. After many years of preparation for the immense task of digitizing and placing online in the vast majority of journals that RIPM has indexed, after much hard labor and with the collaboration of many, the RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Full-Text) was released in May 2009.
Other Useful Indexes
ERIC (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAs the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Full text for more than 1,450 journals, high-quality indexing and in-depth abstracts for thousands of journals, and indexing for hundreds of thousands of articles.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowArts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR has created a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats, inlcuding 62 music journals. With participation and support from the international scholarly community, JSTOR has created a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of scholarship, is actively preserving over one thousand academic journals in both digital and print formats, and continues to greatly expand access to scholarly works and other materials needed for research and teaching globally.