Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Victorian Periodicals in Special Collections
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 This link opens in a new windowA subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects in victorian periodicals.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals This link opens in a new windowWellesley is an index to the authorship of articles, and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowC19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 18111849 to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 20.9 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 13 bibliographic indexes, including more than three million records from British Periodicals Collections I and II, together with the expanded online edition of the Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism (DNCJ).
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAlternate title: 19th Century Collections Online (Gale). NCCO includes British Politics and Society; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; and British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture.
Illustrated London News (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThe Illustrated London News Historical Archive provides access to the full run of the paper (from 1842-2003). With its debut in 1842 the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science.
Punch Magazine Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFrom 1841 to 1992 Punch was the world's most celebrated magazine of humour and satire - imitated, parodied and pirated from America to India and Japan. The Punch Historical Archive will allow users to navigate and search all issues, seasonal numbers and almanacks of this iconic publication, providing a unique insight into the politics, culture and society of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Literary annuals and gift books by
Call Number: Z 1023 .X1 F3 1973
Search the library holdings using the subject string "English periodicals indexes" for other print resources and reference works.