Subject Guides: Victorian and Edwardian Collection: Resources: Victorian Literature

Literature

Websites:

Victorian Short Fiction Project

At the Circulating Library

The Victorian Web

Victoria Research Web

NINES: Nineteenth-century Scholarship Online

Databases (may require NetID):

Victorian Women Writers Project
Transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century: including anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama.

Bibliographies:

Bibliography of Charles Dickens in L. Tom Perry Special Collections

Literary Archives and Libraries

Websites:

The Victorian Lives and Letters Consortium (Includes the John Ruskin Digital Archives, the Carlyle Letters Online, and the Michael Field Diaries projects)

The Rosetti Archive

Gladstone’s Library: Digital Gladstone Project

The Archive of British Publishing and Printing, University of Reading

Databases (may require NetID):

Queen Victoria Journals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window High-resolution, colour images of every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals, from her first diary entry in 1832 to shortly before her death in 1901, along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages.
Victorian Literary Manuscripts This link opens in a new window Victorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of The New York Public Library. Authors represented in this collection include: Matthew Arnold, The Brontes, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, and William Makepeace Thackeray. Unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts and drawings trace the inspiration and genesis behind the period's greatest works. Researchers and students can trace the close interconnection of these Victorian authors and subsequently their texts through the mass of personal correspondence between them, revealing the close circles in which the Victorian literary world moved. From Adam Matthew Digital.

Popular Culture

Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window From Adam Matthew Digital, an essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Includes spiritualism, sensation, magic, circuses, sideshows, freaks, music hall, theatre, and popular entertainment.
British Theatre, Music, and Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture in Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history. Covering more than a century, British Theatre, Music, and Literature is without equal as a resource for 19th century scholars. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history. This unparalleled collection provides a detailed look at the state of the British art world with, for example, not only manuscripts and compositions, but also documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records, offering scholars an unmatched glimpse into the inner workings of the arts world and life in Victorian Britain.
London Low Life This link opens in a new window London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. In addition to the digital documents, London Low Life contains a wealth of secondary resources, including a chronology, interactive maps, essays, online galleries and links to other useful websites. From Adam Matthew Digital.

Additional material can be found on the JFC Harrison (Victorian Social History) site.

Book Illustration

Victorian Illustrators from Sketch to Print exhibit, BYU

Victorian and Edwardian Collection: Resources: Victorian Literature

The David Magee Collection of Victorian Literature

Register of the David Bickersteth Magee (1905-1977) Collection of Victorian and Edwardian Manuscripts, BYU

The David Magee Collection of Victorian Books, BYU

Literature

Literary Archives and Libraries

Popular Culture

Book Illustration