Reference Works
Why consult reference works?
- topical summaries help you generate ideas
- bibliographies point you to previous research
What about Wikipedia?
- Wikipedia can be a great place to start, but may not be the best place to end!
- Entries may not include a comprehensive list of sources, whereas reference works will provide this feature.
Online Reference Works
-
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Indexes the full text of the revised second edition of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the authoritative encyclopedia for all aspects of music. Includes links to digital sound, images, and related sites. Updated quarterly and annually. We have 10 simultaneous users.
-
Britannica online This link opens in a new window
-
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online (ASP) This link opens in a new window The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. It includes more than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world.
Print Reference Works
-
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
includes newly-expanded advanced search, as well as access to accompanying audio.
10-volume print version also available.in the Music Reference Collection.
Call Number: ML 100 .G16 1998 (Reference Collection) -
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
by
Now appearing in print and online simultaneously, this expanded second edition of the most substantial, comprehensive music encyclopedia in English deserves applause for including greater coverage of world and popular music, nearly 2000 more articles on 20th-century composers, and more than 29,000 entries.
Call Number: ML 100 .N48 2001ISBN: 0333608003Publication Date: 2001-01-02 -
The Sage International Encyclopedia of Music and Culture
by
Call Number: ML 3916 .S34 2019 vol.1-5ISBN: 9781483317755Publication Date: 2019 (Reference Collection) -
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
This series includes: Media & Industry, Performance & Production, Locations, Genres, and International Biographies.
Call Number: ML 102 .P66 S53 2003 (Reference Collection) -
Excursions in World Music
by
An accessible world music textbook written by prominent scholars in the field, it exposes students to many musical cultures around the globe. Students are introduced to key musical styles, musical instruments, and performance practices. How to actively listen is demonstrated using musical examples and detailed listening guides. The role of music in society is emphasized through chapters that focus on key world cultural groups.
Call Number: ML 3798 .E92 2001 (Music Library stacks) -
Theory for Ethnomusicology
by
Theory for Ethnomusicology: Histories, Conversations, Insights, Second Edition, is a foundational work for courses in ethnomusicological theory. The book examines key intellectual movements and topic areas in social and cultural theory, and explores the way they have been taken up in ethnomusicological research. New co-author Harris M. Berger and Ruth M. Stone investigate the discipline's past, present, and future, reflecting on contemporary concerns while cataloging significant developments since the publication of the first edition in 2008. A dozen contributors approach a broad range of theoretical topics alive in ethnomusicology. Each chapter examines ethnographic and historical works from within ethnomusicology, showcasing the unique contributions scholars in the field have made to wider, transdisciplinary dialogs, while illuminating the field's relevance and pointing the way toward new horizons of research. New to this edition: Every chapter in the book is completely new, with richer and more comprehensive discussions. New chapters have been added on gender and sexuality, sound and voice studies, performance and critical improvisation studies, and theories of participation. New text boxes and notes make connections among the chapters, emphasizing points of contact and conflict among intellectual movements.
ISBN: 9781315408583Publication Date: 2019-05-31 (E-book)
Performing Arts Librarian
Streaming World Music
-
Naxos Music Library World This link opens in a new window Naxos Music Library World offers a wide range of World music, from legendary historical musical performances to contemporary world music. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented. Over 1,500 cultural groups represented Music from over 150 countries Search profoundly with a meta-data driven Advanced Search
-
Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window Explore the world of the Berliner Philharmoniker. Watch and listen to classical music's finest conductors and soloists live, on-demand or on the go as it suits you. You will need to create a free personal account using the BYU pop-up window in order to access content.
-
Qwest.tv This link opens in a new window Qwest TV is “The world’s first subscription video-on-demand (SVOD) service dedicated to jazz and beyond. Concerts, documentaries, archives, interviews.” Qwest TV includes jazz, soul, funk and world music.
BYU Arts Events Calendar
Get Help
Music & Dance Help Desk
4432 HBLL - Level 4
Music & Dance Web Page
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm
Phone: 801.422.1725
E-mail: music_reference@byu.edu