Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Multidisciplinary Reference Sources
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica Online is one of the most comprehensive, authoritative information databases on the Internet. It contains three encyclopedias, Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia. Itis continually updated to provide the most current information possible. Access to over 150 full-text journals is included at no additional cost with subscriptions to Britannica Online. Britannica Online features include: Over 73,000 articles from the printed Encyclopedia Britannica including more than 8,500 articles that are not found in the print set, plus 7,000 articles from the Britannica Books of the Year. Links to over 300,000 related sites on the Internet, selected for content by Britannica editors. Over 17,000 illustrations, maps and graphics. Thousands of sounds, animations and video clips covering topics ranging from rainforests to the Holocaust.
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.
Specialized Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Histories, Handbooks, etc.
Cambridge History of Russian Literature - HUM REF PG 2951 .C36 1992
Dictionary of Russian Literature - HUM REF PG 2940 .H3
Dictionary of Russian Literature since 1917 - HUM REF PG 2951 .C36 1992
Dictionary of Russian Women Writers - HUM REF PG 2997 .D53 1994
Encyclopedia of Russian & Slavic Myth and Legend - HUM REF BL 930 .D58 1998
Encyclopedia of Russian History
Provides a comprehensive discussion of Russia's people, politics, economics, religion, and social systems; and is designed to complement the study of comparative politics, world history, geography, literature, arts and culture and world cultures. Entries span the period from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union. Includes illustrations. 4 volumes.
Handbook of Russian Literature - HUM REF PG 2940 .H29 1985
Encyclopedia of Slavic Languages and Linguistics Online This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Slavic Languages and Linguistics offers a comprehensive overview of the languages of the Slavic language family and the different ways in which they are and have been studied. It provides authoritative treatment of all important aspects of the Slavic language family from its Indo-European origins to the present day, as well as consideration of interaction of Slavic with other languages.
Literature Criticism Online
Essays in literary criticism that represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, critical analysis, and Web resources of authors from many countries, age and literary discipline. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes.
Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet Literature - HUM REF PG 2940 .M6
Reference Guide to Russian Literature - HUM REF PG 2940 .R44 1998
Russian Women Writers - HUM REF PG 3203 .W64 R868 1999
The Dostoevsky Encyclopedia - PG 3328 .A09 L36 2004
10 Bibliographies of 20th Century Russian literature - HUM REF PG 3227 .X1 T4x
East European Area Studies