Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases (Articles, Bibliographies, Encyclopedias)
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World by Salisbury's encyclopedia provides general readers with entries ranging from biographies of women and female mythological entities to general cultural and cross-cultural subjects dating from roughly 3000 BCE to 500 CE. Most entries feature Persian, Greek, and Roman women, but there are Germanic and Celtic representatives as well.
Call Number: HQ 1127 .S25 2001
Publication Date: 2001-05-16
Women's History and Ancient History by This collection of essays explores the lives and roles of women in antiquity. A recurring theme is the relationship between private and public, and many of the essays find that women's public roles develop as a result of their private lives, specifically their family relationships.
Call Number: HQ 1127 .W6525 1991
Publication Date: 1991-08-01
Warrior Women by Short ancient Greek work by an anonymous author, which discussed fourteen famous ancient women.
Call Number: HQ 1134 .G47 1997
Publication Date: 1996-10-01
Women of Classical Mythology by Bell provides a wonderful catalog of every female goddess, monster, mortal, and being in the realm of ancient Greek and Roman mythology.
Call Number: BL 715 .B445 1991
Publication Date: 1991-06-30
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm