.Greek.Greek New Testament Research
Biblical Studies
This is the "Home" page of the "Ancient Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ancient Studies   Tags: ancient_studies, history  

Last Updated: Jun 18, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.byu.edu/ancientstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Ancient Studies Room

Ancient Studies Mummy

The Ancient Studies Room is located in room 5431 to get access contact Ryan Combs

 

Context of Scripture Online

Designed as a thorough and enduring reference work for all engaged in the study of the Bible and the ancient Near East, Context of Scripture provides reliable access to a broad, balanced, and representative collection of Ancient Near Eastern texts that have an impact on the interpretation of the Bible. Each entry includes an introduction to the text, an authoritative translation, commentary, and bibliographic references.

Articles

  • ABZU
    A Near Eastern Studies website maintained by several universities and scholarly societies, and provides public domain scholarly tools. It contains reference to archaeological excavation reports, editions of ancient and modern texts, core early monographs, dictionaries, journals, and reports.
  • ATLA (American Theological Library Association)
    While specifically a religion database, ATLA contains many ancient studies related topics, especially related to biblical texts and other ancient religions.
  • The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB)
    Scholarly articles, periodicals, essays and etc on Egyptology. It is published by the Griffith Institute, Faculty of Oriental Studies, University of Oxford, in cooperation with the International Association of Egyptologists. The database includes the volumes of the previous print version Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) combined with the Bibliographie Altägypten (BA), providing coverage of Egyptological literature from 1822 to 2002 (roughly 70,000 items).
  • Google Scholar
    Even though very broad this can be a wonderful tool especially as a reverse citation search engine [search for an article and select the link "Cited by" to see who has cited that article since its publication].

eBooks

Films On Demand

Collection of 7,500 full-length videos and 90,000 video clips in all subjects including Art & Architecture, Archaeology, History, Religion, and Languages.

      

    Subject Librarian

    Profile Image
    Ryan Combs
    Contact Info
    Office: 2249 HBLL 801.422.6118
    Google Voice 801.999.8744
    ryan.combs@byu.edu
     

    Greek and Latin Classics Librarian

     

    Profile ImageRobert L. Maxwell


    6728 Harold B. Lee Library
    Brigham Young University
    Provo, Utah 84602
    (801)422-5568
    robert_maxwell@byu.edu
    Send Email

    Links:


    Subjects:

    Greek and Latin languages, literatures, and cultures
    History of printing and book arts
    Information organization (cataloging)
     

    Chat

     

    Chat requires JavaScript.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip