Subject Guides: Business Career Research Guide: Career Information Research

Career Support

Career Launch (Marriott School of Business ) Career resources, events, internships, career advisors...
BYU Career Services
Experiential Learning ( Marriott School of Business) On-Campus Internships, Field Studies and Capstone Projects
The Religious Freedom & Business Foundation (RFBF) "The Religious Freedom & Business Foundation (RFBF) is the preeminent organization dedicated to educating the global business community, policymakers, non-government organizations and consumers about the positive power that faith — and religious freedom for all (including those with no religious faith) — has on business and the economy."

Databases

Firsthand (formerly Vault Online Career Library) This link opens in a new window Initial registration must be completed on campus. Provides in-depth intelligence on what it's really like to work within an industry, company or profession. Best known for its influential rankings, ratings, and reviews on thousands of employers and internships. For more information, see the tutorial.
For educational and research purposes only.
Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for over 600 journals. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
BNA Human Resources Library This link opens in a new window Bloomberg BNA's Human Resources Library provides practical, comprehensive, and timely coverage of workplace issues of interest to HR professionals, consultants, and attorneys. The service provides news, analysis, tools, and research aids to help employers comply with federal and state employment laws and regulations. If it asks for a login after clicking the link, come back to this page and click this link again.

Articles

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window An intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Business Source Ultimate is a collection of popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications, including the Harvard Business Review. Business Source Premier covers accounting, banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, regional studies, sales, trade and technology.
Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for over 600 journals. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.

Government & Other Reliable Sources

Occupational Outlook Handbook The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 325 occupational profiles, covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy
CareerOneStop
Includes America's Job Bank, America's Career InfoNet, and America's Service Locator. The tools were developed and are maintained through the leadership of the U.S. Department of Labor and in partnership with state workforce agencies, local workforce service delivery providers and education and training institutions and private sector organizations.
Dictionary of Occupational Titles 20,000+ listings
Career Journal from the Wall Street Journal
Career Information By Wall Street Journal
America's Career InfoNet America's Career InfoNet (ACINet) is ideal for job seekers, employers, human resource specialists and workforce development specialists to: learn more about typical wages and employment trends across occupations and industries; check education, knowledge, skills and abilities against requirements for most occupations; search for employer contact information nationwide; obtain cost of living data; call up state profiles with labor market conditions
Cost of living index (Previously ACCRA) Council for Community and Economic Research) Council for Community and Economic Research. Provides measures of living cost differences among urban areas. Print Only. HD 6983 .C67x Floor 1–C, Harold B. Lee Library Bookshelves
Wages by Area and Occupation
by U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Employment Projections. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Provides tables of statistics on the outlook for numerous occupations.