Subject Guides: Adaptation Studies: Reference/Background Information

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

Bibliography Managers

Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.

RefWorks This link opens in a new window The new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
Zotero This link opens in a new window A free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.

Online Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference enables searching a variety of electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. at once. Multiple subjects are covered.

Also check Wikipedia for listings of adaptations for a work. Enter the title of the work and look within the article for a section for "Adaptations" or "Other Media". There may be an entire article listing all of the adaptations. Be sure to check below at the references and "Further Reading" recommendations.

Specialized Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Novels into Film, John C. Tibbetts (2005) - Humanities Reference PN 1997.85 .T54 2005
Level 5
Encyclopedia of Stage Plays into Film, John C.Tibbetts (2001) - Humanities Reference PN 1997.85 .T544 2001
Level 5
Enser's Filmed Books and Plays : a List of Books and Plays From Which Films Have Been Made, 1928-2001, Ellen Baskin (2003) - Humanities Reference PN 1997.85 .X1 E55 2003
Level 5
Hollywood and the Comics : Film Adaptations of Comic Books & Strips, David Hofstede (1991) - Humanities Reference PN 1995.9 .S3 H62x 1991
Level 5
International Guide to Literature on Film. 1994. Humanities Reference PN 1997.85 .I58x 1994
MoreTheatre : Stage to Screen to Television, Marill, Alvin H. (1993) - Humanities Reference PN 2189 .M32 1993
More Theatre...1993-2001 at Humanities Reference PN 2189 .M32 2003
More Theatre III : Stage to Screen to Television, since 2001 at Humanities Reference PN 2190 .M37 2008
All on Level 5
Shakespeare Into Film, James Michael Welsh (2002) - Humanities Reference PR 3093 .W46 2002

American Film Institute Catalog This link opens in a new window
Film Index International (Film Indexes Online) This link opens in a new window
FII is produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. This database indexes over 115,000 films, 57,000 film personalities from over 170 countries. It also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes, searchable plot summaries, and full cast and crew lists. FII can be searched in conjunction with AFI Catalog through Film Indexes Online.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)(Gale) This link opens in a new window

Humanities Reference Specialist

Mary Chapman

Email Me

Contact:

Humanities Reference Specialist (MLS)

5522 HBLL | Call or Text 801.422.1624

Subjects: Art History & Visual Arts, English Literatures, Humanities

Media Arts Librarian

Elizabeth Smart

Contact:

On professional development leave through December 2024 (returning January 2025). For research assistance, please contact my colleagues listed on this page.

Subjects: Communications, Global Women's Studies, Humanities, Media Arts