MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations about literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowFilm & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Publications include Film Journal International, Journal of British Cinema & Television, Film Criticism, Post Script, Variety, and more as well as technical publications such as SMPTE. Mirroring the international film & television industries and cultures, FTLI also includes publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Filmihullu, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowThe collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, womens studies, zoology and more.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowThis essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979 - 1998); Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
Performing Arts Periodicals (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts more than 140 international periodicals covering nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Formerly International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
Music Periodicals (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowIndexes music periodicals and feature music articles and obituaries. Formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)
Music Index (EBSCO)This link opens in a new window1976 to present: Indexes approximately 800 international music periodicals covering historic, ethnographic, and musicological data. Includes more than one million citations, with many reviews. Updated quarterly.
Related Journals
Adaptation (Oxford Journals)Adaptation is an international, peer-reviewed journal, offering academic articles, film and book reviews, including both book to screen adaptation, screen to book adaptation, popular and ‘classic’ adaptations, theatre and novel screen adaptations, television, animation, soundtracks, production issues and genres in literature on screen. Adaptation provides an international forum to theorise and interrogate the phenomenon of literature on screen from both a literary and film studies perspective.
Cinema JournalPublishes essays on a wide variety of subjects from diverse methodological perspectives
Comparative Critical StudiesComparative Critical Studies is the journal for comparative literature as a discpline. Articles focus on innovative perspectives on the theory and practice of the study of comparative literature in all its aspects, including but not limited to: theory and history of comparative literary studies; comparative studies of conventions, genres, themes and periods; reception studies; comparative gender studies; transmediality; diasporas and the migration of culture from a literary perspective; and the theory and practice of literary translation and cultural transfer.
Film CriticismWriting from a new generation of film historians, theorists, and critics representing many different disciplines, cultures, and critical perspectives.
Film QuarterlyFilm Quarterly has published substantial, peer-reviewed writing on cinema and media for over sixty years, earning a reputation as one of the most authoritative academic film journals in the United States, as well as an important English-language voice of cinema studies abroad.
Literature/Film QuarterlyArticles on individual motion pictures, interviews with directors, screenwriters and literary figures, reviews of current film adaptations of literary works, reviews of books concerning film and responses to articles and reviews.
Theatre JournalDrawing contributions from noted practitioners and scholars, Theatre Journal features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production. Recent special issues include "Re-Thinking the Real," "Ancient Theatre," "Dance," and "Theatre and Activism." Theatre Journal is published in cooperation with the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE).
Journal of Adaptation in Film and PerformancePublishes work on adaptation and translation in the form of the conversion of oral, historical, or fictional narratives into stage drama. The processes of cross-generic and cross-cultural transformation continue to be extremely important in theatre as well as in the film and other media industries. Adaptation and the related areas of translation and intertextuality continue to have a central place in culture and profound resonance across civilizations. As an academic discipline, Adaptation studies has begun to establish itself in the last few decades as an important area of scholarship and research which, alongside translation studies, continues to make significant contributions to the analysis and understanding of a complex and increasingly diverse world culture. The journal's aim is to offer a forum for discussion and analysis of adaptation and/or translation in performance and as a creative practice in the context of theater, film, television, radio and audio, music, dance, opera, gaming, and graphic narratives.
Periodical Information
Find publication or subscription information about specific journals/periodicals.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO)This link opens in a new window1970+ Lists over 3700 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics and folklore, supplying addresses, publication information and guidelines for submission. Updated annually.
* NO systematic downloading.
* Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.
UlrichswebThis link opens in a new windowContains information about periodicals published world-wide. Each record provides publishing information, price, state date, where it is indexed, email links, submission requirements, whether articles are peer reviewed etc. Updated daily.
Online version of Ulrich's Periodical Directory.
Use one of these tools to import references of books, articles, and websites into folders and keep them organized. Create in-text citations and format your bibliography for your paper too.
RefWorksThis link opens in a new windowThe new RefWorks 3.0 lets you save and share an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials. Generate bibliographies and citations and integrate with either Word or Google Docs.
ZoteroThis link opens in a new windowA free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.
