Subject Guides: Women in Antiquity: Home

Databases (Articles, Bibliographies, Encyclopedias)

L'annee Philologique Index of periodical articles as well as articles in collections and conference papers in Classical Studies.
Project Muse Index of the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR focuses on humanities, social science, and more recently, science titles which have proven themselves vital to these disciplines and which have many years of publication, in some cases going back to the 19th century. Also searches ARTstor.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

Oxford Bibliographies An annotated bibliography combining the best features with a high-level encyclopedia Oxford Bibliographies: Classics provides the best available scholarship to researchers.
Brill's New Pauly Encyclopaedia Brill's New Pauly Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World is the best encyclopedia in English for classical studies. It covers both the ancient world and the reception of classics in the modern world.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window 1955+ Indexes and abstracts scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Websites

Women in Antiquity: An Online Resource for the Study of Women in the Ancient World
Society for the Study of Women Philosophers
Diotíma
Warriors, Queens, and Intellectuals: 36 Great Women before 1400 - The Great Courses Streamed video documentaries on Kanopy of the lives of great women in antiquity.
A Companion to Women in the Ancient World
Archaeologies of Gender and Violence
The Amazons : Lives and Legends of Warrior Women Across the Ancient World
Women's History Sourcebook

Print Books

A Cultural History of Women in Antiquity by HQ 1121 .C83 2013 vol.1
ISBN: 9780857850973
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World by Joyce Salisbury Salisbury's encyclopedia provides general readers with entries ranging from biographies of women and female mythological entities to general cultural and cross-cultural subjects dating from roughly 3000 BCE to 500 CE. Most entries feature Persian, Greek, and Roman women, but there are Germanic and Celtic representatives as well.
Call Number: HQ 1127 .S25 2001
ISBN: 1576070921
Publication Date: 2001-05-16
Women in the Ancient World by John Peradotto (Editor); J. P. Sullivan (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 1134 .W63 1984
ISBN: 0873957725
Publication Date: 1984-06-30
Women's History and Ancient History by Sarah B. Pomeroy (Editor) This collection of essays explores the lives and roles of women in antiquity. A recurring theme is the relationship between private and public, and many of the essays find that women's public roles develop as a result of their private lives, specifically their family relationships.
Call Number: HQ 1127 .W6525 1991
ISBN: 0807819492
Publication Date: 1991-08-01
Warrior Women by Deborah Gera Short ancient Greek work by an anonymous author, which discussed fourteen famous ancient women.
Call Number: HQ 1134 .G47 1997
ISBN: 9004106650
Publication Date: 1996-10-01
Women of Classical Mythology by Robert E. Bell Bell provides a wonderful catalog of every female goddess, monster, mortal, and being in the realm of ancient Greek and Roman mythology.
Call Number: BL 715 .B445 1991
ISBN: 0874365813
Publication Date: 1991-06-30

Get Help

Humanities Reference
Level 5
Hours: M-Th: 8am-9pm;
F: 8am-6pm; Sat:10am-6pm

801.422.4006
humref@byu.edu

Women in Antiquity: Home

Databases (Articles, Bibliographies, Encyclopedias)

Websites

Print Books

Get Help

Related Subject Guides