Subject Guides: Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Science: Additional Resources

Selected Nutrition, Dietetics, and Food Science Websites

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
(formerly the American Dietetic Association), is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals.

Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) Home page This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1939, the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) is a nonprofit professional academic society with more than 18,000 members working in food science, technology and related professions in academia, industry and government.

Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) Home page Founded in 1939, the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) is a nonprofit professional academic society with more than 18,000 members working in food science, technology and related professions in academia, industry and government.
IFPRI - International Food Policy Research Institute IFPRIs vision is a world free of hunger and malnutrition. The vision is based on the human right to adequate food and nutrition and recognition of the inherent dignity of all members of the human family. It is a world where every person has secure access to sufficient and safe food to sustain a healthy and productive life and where decisions related to food are made transparently and with the participation of consumers and producers. IFPRI's mission is to provide policy solutions that cut hunger and malnutrition. This mission flows from the CGIAR mission: "To achieve sustainable food security and reduce poverty in developing countries through scientific research and research-related activities in the fields of agriculture, livestock, forestry, fisheries, policy, and natural resources management."
Institute of Food Science and Technology Home page for the Institute of Food Science and Technology. An independent incorporated professional qualifying body for food scientists and technologists.
MEDLINE Plus This website is created and maintained by the NLM (National Library of Medicine). The Health Topics option has a list of over 600 topics that provide a variety of types of information about the topic. The information is written by professional health experts. There are full text information, references, and links to additional websites on each topic. This information will provide excellent background information along with much specific information for the topics included. More topics are being added each month.
Supercourse-Epidemiology, the Internet and Global Health
Supercourse is a repository of lectures on global health and prevention designed to improve the teaching of prevention. Supercourse has a network of over 64000 scientists in 174 countries who are sharing for free a library of 3623 lectures in 26 languages.

Videos

JoVE A peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.

JoVE Science Education: General Laboratory Techniques JoVE creates the ultimate solutions for advancing research and science education by making and publishing videos of scientific experiments from the top laboratories around the globe.

Kanopy streams more than 26,000 films to over 3,000 higher education campuses worldwide.

Protocols and Methods

General

Bio-Protocol https://bio-protocol.org/default.aspx

Cold Springer Protocols http://dbs.lib.byu.edu/protocols-csh

Protocol Online http://www.protocol-online.org/

Jove http://dbs.lib.byu.edu/jove

Specific to Food Science

Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC https://lib.byu.edu/remoteauth/?url=https://academic.oup.com/aoac-publications/book/45491

AOCS https://guides.lib.byu.edu/aocs-methods

AACC Approved Methods of Analysis http://methods.aaccnet.org.erl.lib.byu.edu/

FDA https://www.fda.gov/food/science-research-food/laboratory-methods-food

Federal Food Regulations

Food Data Central
USA Food and Drug Administration Home Page (FDA) Links to searchable Title 21 CFR, FDCA and other laws enforced by FDA
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) USDA home page and access to FSIS information
National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST) National Institute of Standards & Technology (source for Handbooks 130 and 133 covering weights and measures variations allowed).

Clinical Databases

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 15 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references, and a drug database.
For educational use only.