American Consumer CultureThis link opens in a new windowProvides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognised ‘father’ of Motivational Research.
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture (Gale)This link opens in a new windowCrime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 presents a broad history of crime in the long 19th century derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources. The collection includes trial transcripts, court proceedings, police and forensic documents, photographs, true crime literature and detective novels, and newspaper accounts. This archive appeals to scholars in the fields of history, literature, law and criminal justice, as well as other fields.
German Folklore and Popular Culture (Gale)This link opens in a new windowDas Kloster is a collection of magical and occult texts, chapbooks, folklore, popular superstition and fairy tales of the German Renaissance compiled by Stuttgart antiquarian Johann Scheible, between 1845 and 1849. In addition to the Das Kloster volumes, this collection provides additional volumes of unique perspectives on Central European culture and tradition. Included are texts essential for the study of German folk traditions, the Reformation, wit and humor and 19th-century literature.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975This link opens in a new windowExplores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
Victorian Popular CultureThis link opens in a new windowFrom Adam Matthew Digital, an essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Includes spiritualism, sensation, magic, circuses, sideshows, freaks, music hall, theatre, and popular entertainment.
Periodical & News Archives
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThe newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media
Eighteenth Century Journals PortalThis link opens in a new window18th Century Journals from Adam Matthew brings together rare journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion.
British Library Online Newspaper Archive (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThis new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
American Periodical Series Online 1741-1900 (ProQuest - Full text)This link opens in a new windowA Historical American Periodicals database. This database includes digitized images of popular magazines and other rare periodicals from early American history up through the 1940s. Images are scanned from original pages and appear in their original layout with pictures and graphics. Coverage is from 1741 to 1941 and includes over 1000 different titles.
HARPWEEKThis link opens in a new windowHarper’s Weekly newspaper covered the Civil War Era, 1857-1871. Prolific Latter-day Saint and Civil War subject content. Fully indexed, web access. Original displayed in image format.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowSearch the archives of historical newspapers from around the United States. Coverage dates back to 1786.
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAAI indexes and abstracts the entire journal contents of 42 American art periodicals published between 1840-1907. Includes articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, advertisements, exhibitions, and works of art.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times Archive (1851-2006)This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest Historical Newspaper, the New York Times Archive (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Periodical Source Index (PERSI)This link opens in a new windowPERSI is a comprehensive subject index to genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800. The collection also includes literature dating from the 1700s, although the material before 1800 is less complete.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)This link opens in a new window1890-1982. Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Subjects covered include archaeology, astronomy, biographies, business, education, environment, fine arts, foreign affairs, history, journalism, literature, medicine, news, popular culture, religion, science, and travel.
Utah Digital NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowA growing digital collection of early Utah newspapers browsed by title or searched by keywords, article titles, weddings, deaths, and births. This is a Utah Academic Library Consortium project funded by the Library Services and Technology Act.
NewspaperARCHIVEThis link opens in a new windowNewspaperARCHIVE.com is the world's largest online newspaper archive. Featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world, NewspaperARCHIVE makes exploring history and genealogy easy and fun. Discover fascinating news in archived newspapers hundreds of years old - including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more – to fill in the life stories you are interested in. And share those stories with others through our community at OurNewspaperARCHIVE. All of our historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable - try exploring above and discover your history today!
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (Gale)This link opens in a new windowContains every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902 to 2005. Indexes over 250,000 reviews, letters, poems, and articles from over 5,000 issues.
Vogue Archive (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.
Harper's Bazaar Archive (PQ)This link opens in a new windowA searchable archive of the US (1867 to present) and UK (1930-2015) editions of Harper's Bazaar. The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. This resource chronicles over 150 years of American, British, and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering unique insights into the events, attitudes, and interests of the modern era.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Gale)This link opens in a new windowResearchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper, 1785-1985, is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
