Subject Guides: Maps, Atlases and Gazetteers: A to Z Resources in Maps

Online Resources, CD-ROM's, PDF Files, Items in Print

AChoiceLand.com Maps and Illustrations A Baja California model.
AAA Map N Go CD-ROM

American West - Maps This link opens in a new window

ANALYSIS OF THE SYSTEM of United States Land Surveys A general description using text and diagrams of the following: Metes and Bounds, Meridians and Base Lines, Townships of Land, Sections of Land, and Fractional Pieces of Land.
AniMap Plus CD-ROM
Atlas des Deutschen Reichs (Atlas of the German Empire) The Atlas des Deutschen Reichs by Ludwig Ravenstein (1883) helps in tracing the roots of families with origins in any part of the German empire from the late nineteenth century to the early twentieth century. Besides Germany, the maps of this atlas also cover the bordering portions of present-day Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Hungary, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, the Russian Federation, Slovakia, and Switzerland. Due to the large scale of its maps (1:850,000) and its thorough gazetteer of place-names, one can locate even small towns and villages on the maps in the Ravenstein atlas.
Atlas of CIS and Baltic States CD-ROM
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries Select a state from the map to view all of the Atlas' content related to that state, including interactive maps, shapefiles, chronologies, and metadata.
Atlas of Russia City Maps CD-ROM
Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States
Auto Map Road Atlas Europe CD-ROM
Bartholomew's Survey Atlas of Scotland (1912) National Library of Scotland.
Bing Maps and Directions
Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON) Search for animal and plant species by their scientific or common names.
Book of Mormon Archaeological Forum Articles by subject matter.
Book of Mormon Geography This site lists multiple factors that apply to Book of Mormon geography, and applies them to numerous locations worldwide.
Book of Mormon Geography - (generic map) Includes adaption of Joel Hardy's map
Book of Mormon/Geography - FAIRMormon
Book of Mormon/Geography/All models by name table
Book of Mormon Geography, The Simple Truth!
Book of Mormon Lands (On the Trail of the Plates of Mormon)
BookOfMormonOnline.Net Interactive maps for many of the major geographical models
British and Irish towns: fire insurance plans - British Library Just zoom in as close as you wish on the map of the British Isles. As you begin to see detail, more dots over each town will appear. Click on any dot you wish, and a fire insurance plan of that neighborhood will display. Under View this map, click on Online Gallery, and several viewing options will appear, along with a detailed description.
The British Historic Towns Atlas England, Scotland and Wales.
British History Online British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, aims to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research.
British History Online - Topographical Dictionary of England Edited by Samuel Lewis. Seventh edition. Contains detailed topographical accounts of places, parishes and counties in England. Originally published in four volumes, here given together.
BYU Map Collections on Internet Archive Maps have been georeferenced, and each includes a World File for use in GIS.
Canadian Geographic Names
Canadian Museum of Civilization - Atlases and Maps - Canada
CanalMaps Archive : Historic Maps and Plans of Inland Navigation (Britain)
Central Intelligence Agency - Maps of CIA Search by location or publication. Download PDF's or JPG's. Not all countries are listed.

CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window Alternate title: World Factbook. Provides a country-by-country listing of basic statistical and factual information. A few miscellaneous areas such as Antarctica and the West Bank are also included. Entries average two pages in length. Updated annually.
David Rumsey Map Collection - Maps of Palestine This link opens in a new window Mouse over image to view record Summary. Click on image for greater detail, and for download / printing options.

David Rumsey Map Collection - Maps of Palestine Mouse over image to view record Summary. Click on image for greater detail, and for download / printing options.
Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Alphabetical listing of abbreviations and acronyms.
The Digital Archaeological Atlas of the Holy Land (DAAHL) Includes a vast assortment of images, maps, and text. Click on the headings just below the title, to branch out into additional information. Spatial searching via Google Earth included.
Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations A map with click-able data layers. Zoom in and out. Drag the image where you please. Includes, maps, data sources, links, contact information etc.
Digital Geological Map of Utah CD-ROM

Estonia Place Names Database This link opens in a new window Since independence in 1991, Estonia has renamed a number of its towns and cities. Some, back to their pre-Soviet occupation names. This English searchable database, provides access to current as well as variant place names within Estonia and elsewhere. Once a query is submitted, maps are viewable by clicking on GeoNames in the Coordinates field. Details for each map pin are viewable by clicking on the pin icon next to the name listed below.

Estonia Place Names Database Since independence in 1991, Estonia has renamed a number of its towns and cities. Some, back to their pre-Soviet occupation names. This English searchable database, provides access to current as well as variant place names within Estonia and elsewhere. Once a query is submitted, maps are viewable by clicking on GeoNames in the Coordinates field. Details for each map pin are viewable by clicking on the pin icon next to the name listed below.
Find A County - National Association of Counties (NACO) This site provides several ways to locate any county nationwide. Selecting the state displays a county list. Naming the county takes you right to their information page. From there you can view the county in Google Maps, link to the official county web page, or email elected county officials.
Gazetteer for Scotland At least 21136 detailed entries.
Gazetteer of Australian Place Names
Gazetteer of the Northwest Territories A 200+ page pdf file.
Gazetteer to AMS 1:25,000 Maps of East Germany This gazetteer lists geographical place names for the former German Democratic Republic (East Germany), and provides along with the place name, its Designation or type, Grid Reference, Latitude, Longitude, and the Sheet Number to the Army Map Service 1:25,000 scale M841 series.
Gazetteer to AMS 1:25,000 Maps of West Germany Volume 1 (A.D. Affenberg to Haszfelden) This gazetteer lists geographical place names for the Federal Republic of German (West Germany) from A.D. AFFENBERG to HASZFELDEN, and provides along with the place name, its Designation or type, Grid Reference, Latitude, Longitude, and the Sheet Number to the Army Map Service 1:25,000 scale series.
Gazetteer to AMS 1:25,000 Maps of West Germany Volume 2 (Hateler-B to Ozental) This gazetteer lists geographical place names for the Federal Republic of German (West Germany) from HATELER-B to OZENTAL, and provides along with the place name, its Designation or type, Grid Reference, Latitude, Longitude, and the Sheet Number to the Army Map Service 1:25,000 scale series.
Gazetteer to AMS 1:25,000 Maps of West Germany Volume 3 (P Kerhof to 100 Morgen) This gazetteer lists geographical place names for the Federal Republic of German (West Germany) from P KERHOF to 100 MORGEN, and provides along with the place name, its Designation or type, Grid Reference, Latitude, Longitude, and the Sheet Number to the Army Map Service 1:25,000 scale series.
General Karte Mitteleuropa - A Monarchia III. katonai felmérése 3rd Military Mapping Survey of Austria-Hungary Just click on any of the locations within the Map Index. Click again to zoom in. Not all maps are available for viewing from the index. Move your mouse across the index. Available sheets will show a title and often a date.
Genmaps -- Old Maps of Great Britian This site contains scans of, or direct links to, maps of England, Scotland and Wales from the 14th to the 19th century arranged by the pre-1974 county divisions.
GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy A database of church, society, and register offices in the United Kingdom and Ireland.
GeoBase
Geographical Names Register of New South Wales Locate details of more than 80,000 names in New South Wales.
Geology of Britain Viewer From the British Geological Survey, this is a viewer for 1:625,000 and 1:50,000 scale digital geological maps. Click on the map to view a description of the geology. Also includes a geology key. The base map can be changed as well as layer transparency.
German Maps (Topographische Karte 1:25,000) Topographic 1:25,000 scale maps of pre-WWII Germany. If you are looking for a specific location, and don't know which named sheet to display, refer to the Gazetteer to AMS 1:25,000 maps of East and West Germany, listed within this guide. Clicking on one of the 4 volumes will take you to its title page on Internet Archive. Within these title pages, are links to the other 3 volumes, as well as back to BYU's Germany Map page. Maneuver thru any of the 4 gazetteers, and identify the sheet number for the place you are interested in. Note that there are abbreviated location types such as streams, mountains, populated places, for many similar place name. Once you have a sheet number, return to this site, by clicking back to the gazetteer's title page, and then the BYU's Germany Map page link. Enter the sheet number in the search box. Once the map is displayed, you have several viewing and downloading options.
gis.com Geographic Information Systems What is GIS?
Global Explorer CD-ROM
Global Forest Change - University of Maryland View geographically the loss, gain, and extent of forests worldwide. Zoom in and out to see the detailed changes over time for areas and regions that are of interest. Choose between multiple display options.
Google Maps Google Maps is an online service that allows users in the U.S. and Canada to find location information, navigate through maps, and get directions quickly and easily.
Historic Map Works
Historic Maps of New England and New York The University of New Hampshire's Library's online collection of over 1500 USGS topographic maps includes complete geographical coverage of New England and New York from the 1890s to 1950s.
Historical Atlas of Islam CD-ROM
Historical County Boundary Maps (randymajors.com) Just type in a present day place name including the 2 letter state code. Select a year, and click go. The county boundary for that year will display. Click within the boundary and more information will display. You must use modern place names. By clicking the arrows on either side of the date, country boundaries will change in 10 year intervals.
Historical Map & Chart Collection From the NOAA Office of Coast Survey. Mainly historic nautical charts of U.S. Waters and Possessions. But also includes historical regional maps from around the world.
Historical maps of the Geological Survey of Great Britain and Ireland - BGS Browse maps, sections, and histories for England and Wales, Scotland, and Ireland. Click on the desired country followed by the map series. Click FULL ENTRY to view the record for the desired map sheet. Then click VIEW COPY at the bottom of the record to display the map.
History and Geography of Europe Historical maps of Europe, the Middle East, Roma. Geography maps from World Atlas. Antique Maps from Antique Cartography, Lesage Atlas 1808 and the Peutinger Map. And Europe Photos from Time Pictures and Countries of Europe and the Mediterranean Basin.
History of Cartography, University of Chicago Press On this site the University of Chicago Press is pleased to present the first three volumes of the History of Cartography in PDF format. Navigate to the PDFs from the left column. Each chapter of each book is a single PDF. The search box on the left allows searching across the content of all the PDFs that make up the first six books.
History of the war in France and Belgium, in 1815 : containing minute details of the battles of Quatre-Bras, Ligny, Wavre,... University of Cambridge These maps and plans are from a folio issued to accompany William Siborne’s standard work on Waterloo, History of the war in France and Belgium, in 1815. Each of the four battles depicted—Quatre Bras, Ligny, Waterloo and Wavre—is shown at two or more times of day, by overprinting the monochrome base sheets with the coloured unit markings: blue for French, red for Anglo-Allied, and green for Prussian.
Holy Land Maps - The National Library of Israel Contains maps divided into 2 collections. Jerusalem and Holy Land Maps. Click on either to access brief citations and icon images. Click on title or icon for more detail.
Holy Land Maps - University of Florida The maps are organized by five conventional ages of cartography. Within these periods the entries are organized by countries in order of their prominence in map making during the height of the Age. The entries are then organized by date and cartographer.
Hugh Nibley and Book of Mormon Geography
Images of Early Maps on the Web The Institute of Historical Research in London, England, has compiled a collection of links to images of early maps on the Web that covers the world.
The JewishGen Communities Database and JewishGen Gazetteer Search for Jewish communities and named places in Eastern Europe, many of which no longer exist.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) Includes links to newspapers, magazines and radio stations. Provides access to Internet-based information to, from, or about Latin America.
Latin Place Names File A thesaurus of Latin place names found in the imprints of books printed before 1801. Gives vernacular equivalents in AACR2 (Anglo-American Cataloguing Rules) form.
Latvia CD-ROM Atlas
Lehi City (Utah) Maps General Plan Land Use Map, Master Transportation Plan Map, Parks Map, Trails Map, Zone Map, Subdivision Map, Scout Merit Badge Map.
Library of Congress "American Memory" Map Collections: 1500-2002 The Library of Congress Map Collection is organized according to seven major categories: Cities and Towns, Conservation and Environment, Cultural Landscapes, Discovery and Exploration, General Maps, Military Battles and Campaigns, and Transportation and Communication. Search using keywords or browse by geographic location, subject, creator, or title to find both historical and panoramic maps on Americana.
Library of Congress - Map Collection Limit search by; Online Format, Dates, Sites and Collections, Contributors, Subjects, Locations, Languages, and Expert Resources.
Lindon City Maps Please contact the Development Department at 801-785-7687 for the most current maps and requirements.
MacMillan Digital World Atlas CD-ROM
Map Art Canada Street Locator CD-ROM
Map Expert CD-ROM
Map Projection Transitions An attempt to portray the spherical earth on a flat plain. A drop down menu allows you to select any projection you wish. By clicking and dragging your mouse across the image, you can center, flip, or otherwise position your world however you choose.
Map Projections Used by the U.S. Geological Survey : Geological Survey Bulletin 1532
Mapquest
Maps 'N' Facts CD-ROM

Online Resources, CD-ROM's, PDF Files, Items in Print

Maps of counties of Denmark from Frems Amtskort over Danmark (1897-1904) Just click on the map icon or name and a full downloadable map with discription will display
Maps.Utah.Gov Maps of Utah grouped by: Subject, Title, Geographic Extent, Host Agency, Current Issues, Frequently Requested; as well as maps for sale and data for download.
Maritime Boundaries by International Mapping Provides users with the most accurate and up-to-date synopsis of the world’s maritime spaces. Exclusive features include: best interactive map of maritime boundaries on the web, free Boundary Brief and GIS Data samples to download, and premium content for purchase (GIS Data, Boundary Briefs, Map Posters).
Meyers Orts- und Verkehrs-Lexicon des Deutschen Reichs, 1912-1913, Bd. 1 A-K Lexicon of Germany covering place names A through K
Meyers Orts- und Verkehrs-Lexicon des Deutschen Reichs, 1912-1913, Bd. 2 L-Z Lexicon of Germany covering place names L through Z
Mormon's Map Puzzle Solved? A detailed map for the Book of Mormon has been produced by archaeologist Garth Norman which may solve a long-standing puzzle.
Moscow CD-ROM Atlas
The Narrow Neck of Land Key to Book of Mormon Geography
National Geographic Maps CD-ROM
The National Geologic Map Database A database containing USGS and AASG generated maps from the individual states. Searchable by title, author, or map interface.
National Library of Scotland : Maps of Scotland Access high-resolution zoomable images of over 44,000 maps of Scotland
National Library of Scotland : Mosaic Viewer Please choose an historic map overlay below, and then using the gazetteer or map, zoom in or Zoom to this historic overlay to view the overlay. Different modern base map layers (upper right) can also be viewed by sliding the Transparency Slider (upper left of map)
National Library of Scotland - Ordnance Survey National Grid maps, 1940s-1960s - Sheet Lists - Edinburgh & London Click on NT-Edinburgh environs or TO-London environs, and access a graphic index, zoomable overlay of the maps on a modern Google or Bing map, sheet lists by scale, or individually numbered sheets.
New York Public Library Map Rectifier NYPL digital maps online.
NOAA Office of Coast Survey (Find A Chart) Search for nautical charts by using the geographical interface, by place name, by sheet number.
NOAA Office of Coast Survey, GIS & other products NOAA has expanded its suite of products derived from chart data to include those that are geographic information system (GIS) user-friendly for the non-navigational user group.
Northern Territory Place Names Register Simply type in the place name you desire. A spatial search for a place name can be made using the Northern Territory Atlas link provided.
Old Maps Online Provides a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution.
Origins of Canada's Geographical Names Assembled is some information on the names of Canada's provinces, territories, and capital cities; origins of some Aboriginal community names; and a variety of articles on interesting names across the country.
OS Get a Map - The Ordnance Survey's Get a Map system OS getamap is the new online map application from Ordnance Survey where you can: Create your own walking, cycling, and running routes. Swap between views of OS Explorer maps, OS Landranger maps, satellite and new Zoom-Map. Zoom in and out of the maps. Print and save maps to your folder. Share your customized maps with friends and family. Get the quickest and shortest driving directions. Search for ready-made routes from other getamap users and featured brands. Check the local weather and news before you set off. Import and export routes using GPX and KML format. Import and export your routes via your Garmin handheld GPS device. And find great places to go and things to do and save them on your map.
PC Globe CD-ROM
PC USA CD-ROM
Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe History of Europe - Periodis Web - A Historical atlas and gazetteer of Europe from year 1 to 2000.
Places in the News From the Library of Congress,
Planet Earth CD-ROM
Pleasant Grove (Utah) City Maps
The Portal to Texas History - Maps University of North Texas portal to digital maps and atlases. Includes worldwide maps and atlases. Not limited to Texas History only.
Proposed Book of Mormon Geography by Joel Hardy March 1998
Provo City Geographical Viewer
Provo City GIS Provo City Geographic Information Systems.
Quebec Place Names - Commission de toponymie du Quebec (French Only) Includes aboriginal and municipal place names.
Rand McNally Quick Reference Atlas CD-ROM
Road Trip City to City CD-ROM
Russia Oblasts Krays CD-ROM
Saint Petersburg 99 CD-ROM
Salem Utah Maps
Sanborn Maps - Key
Sanborn Maps - Legend

Sanborn Maps (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.

Sanborn Maps (Utah) Reconstructing the Past through Utah Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps: Home - An innovative portal for all available Utah Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps hosted at the J. Willard Marriott Library, complete with individual map links, georeferenced map files (KMZ/zip) and interactive Google Earth viewers.
Sanborn Maps (Wikipedia) A good history and analysis of the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps. Including a list of digital access points, linking to individual digital collections, under the heading External Links.
Scale Calculator - Terry Reese, Valley Library, Oregon State University Calculate English or Metric units of measurement to representative fractions.
Scanned maps, Scales 1:50,000 to 1:125,000 Zoom in to an area of interest. The Layers drop down function shows you the countries that are available to view. Turn layers on or off as you wish. The Basemap dropdown function allows you to change the background. Each red square is a single available map. Click on a square and a brief description of the map sheet will appear. Click on More Info to view the actual map. Right click on the map to save or download the image.
Scanned maps, Scales 1:200,000 to 1:253,440 Zoom in to an area of interest. The Layers drop down function shows you the countries that are available to view. Turn layers on or off as you wish. The Basemap dropdown function allows you to change the background. Each red square is a single available map. Click on a square and a brief description of the map sheet will appear. Click on More Info to view the actual map. Right click on the map to save or download the image.
ScotlandsPlaces Allows you to search locations in Scotland, which results in a list and brief description. Click on the name and more details will appear, including photos and a location map.
South Australia State Site Allows you to download the State Gazetteer, Suburbs and rural localities list, and related information.
Space Explorer CD-ROM
Spanish Fork (Utah) Maps / GIS
Springville City Maps
Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World Reconstructs the duration and financial cost of travel in antiquity.
State & County Maps
U.S. State and County boundary maps, D.O.T. Highway Maps and Antique Atlases Maps
Street Atlas USA CD-ROM
The Theatre of the empire of Great Britain : presenting an exact geography of the kingdomes of England, Scotland, Ireland,... University of Cambridge One of five known sets of proof maps prepared for John Speed's Theatre of the Empire of Great Britaine, which was published in 1611/12. The maps were printed from copper plates which had been engraved, in reverse, by Jodocus Hondius in his workshop in Amsterdam. Maps printed from the plates - proofs - would have been sent back to England for checking.
Theban Mapping Project Includes 2 atlases. Atlas of the Valley of the Kings, and Atlas of the Theban Necropolis. Also includes links to articles, sites, resources, search terms, etc.
Topo Arizona CD-ROM
Topo California CD-ROM
Topo Colorado CD-ROM
Topo Idaho CD-ROM
Topo Illinois CD-ROM
Topo Iowa CD-ROM
Topo Missouri CD-ROM
Topo Montana CD-ROM
Topo Nebraska CD-ROM
Topo Nevada CD-ROM
Topo Northeastern States CD-ROM
Topo Ohio CD-ROM
Topo Oregon CD-ROM
Topo Pennsylvania CD-ROM
Topo USA CD-ROM
Topo Utah CD-ROM
Topo Washington [State] CD-ROM
Topo Wyoming CD-ROM
Trails of Hope - Interactive Maps Navigate the trails viewing photographs and illustrations
Trip Maker 97 CD-ROM
True Book of Mormon Geography Land, Western New York Model
Trulia Maps - Real Estate Overview Map As the second largest real estate search engine, Trulia provides in-depth community and neighborhood information across the nation. Advantageous information is displayed using drop down menus, including crime locations and descriptions, schools, commute times, local amenities, natural hazards, demographics, and real estate market updates both rentals and for sale. These all can be found for free, in one place, with no log-in or subscription required.
Unconventional Book of Mormon Geography Theories | Mormon Matters Includes an African theory and a Malay theory.
United Kingdom Historic Maps Created and maintained by the Landmark Information Group, this Website offers roughly 85,000 images of historical maps of regions of the UK. The maps are dated between 1846 and 1899, and are of 1:10,560 scale. To ease navigation, Landmark has supplied a County Name Gazetteer.
United States Congressional District Shapefiles This site provides digital boundary definitions for every U.S. Congressional District in use between 1789 and 2012. These were produced as part of NSF grant SBE-SES-0241647 between 2009 and 2013.
University of Texas-Austin, Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
United States Digital Map Library This site has online historical maps of the United States as a whole, the individual states and some of its counties.
U.S. Gazetteer Produced by the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes downloadable gazetteer files in 10 year increments, for multiple censuses, covering multiple census categories.
U.S. Military Academy - West Point - Our Atlases Provides pdf files covering the battlefields of ; Ancient Warfare, The Dawn of Modern Warfare, American Colonial Wars, American Revolution, Napoleonic Wars, War of 1812, Mexican War, American Civil War, Spanish American War, Chinese Civil War, WWI, WWII European Theater, WWII Asian/Pacific Theater, Korean War, Arab/Israel, Vietnam War, Wars and Conflicts since 1958 Eastern Hemisphere, Wars and Conflicts Since 1958 Western Hemisphere, The First Gulf War, Afghanistan, and Iraq.
USGS Historical Topographic Maps For more than 125 years, the U.S. Geological Survey topographic maps have accurately portrayed the complex geography of the Nation. Because historical maps are stored in a limited number of collections and are not readily available, these historical printed topographic quadrangles are now available in an electronic format (GeoPDF). This scanning and processing effort serves to make the maps available for viewing and download.
USGS Publications Warehouse Citations for 70,000+ publicationsAccess 40,000+ products and thematic mapsFull description of all USGS SeriesFind price and purchase options for hard copy publications
more...less...
The USGS Publication Warehouse allows you to search by Author, Title, Year and Product Type.

There are also links to retrieve Maps, Aerial Photographs, Satellite Imagery, Software and a number of sites with Real Time Data (earthquakes, streamflow, etc.)
USGS thematic maps
USGS Topo View
Utah County online - County Maps Interactive maps and PDF maps
Utah Dept. of Administrative Services, Research Guides Use these guides to understand how people and organizations have interacted with government over time, leaving a historical record. Most contain curated lists of records available to the public at the Research Center.
Utah Geological Survey - Aerial Imagery Collection
Utah Geological Survey - GeoSights
Utah Geological Survey : GIS Map Data GIS (Geographic Information System) data allow the user to create specialized maps in a computer environment by clipping the data to desired boundaries; stacking the data with other GIS data layers such as mineral resources, energy resources, cultural features, geologic units, or topographic features; or removing unneeded data. GIS data requires specialized software, which must be purchased or downloaded separately.
Utah Geological Survey - Maps Online Includes: Geologic Map Portal, New Maps & Publications, Geologic Maps, Geologic Hazard Maps, Groundwater Maps, Topographic Maps, GIS Data, Geologic Resource Maps, and Geophysical Maps.
Utah GIS Portal
A Vision of Britain through time. Between 1801 and 2001.
WIG - Map Archive of Wojskowy Instytut Geograficzny 1919 - 1939 A web site dedicated to pre-WW2 maps of Poland and surrounding regions.
Wikimedia Commons - Atlas index The Wikimedia Atlas of the World is an organized and commented collection of geographical, political and historical maps available at Wikimedia Commons.
Wikimedia Commons - Stielers Handatlas 1891 Stielers Handatlas (after Adolf Stieler, 1775-1836), formally titled "Hand-Atlas über alle Theile der Erde und über das Weltgebäude", was the leading German world atlas of the last three decades of the 19th and the first half of the 20th century. Published by Justus Perthes of Gotha (established 1785 and still existing there) it went through ten editions from 1816 to 1944.
World Digital Library (Atlas Search)
World Digital Library (Map Search)
The World War I Document Archive - Maps & Images Just click on any of the JPG files to display the maps and images
Yahoo Maps This site offers maps for locating addresses and driving directions. It includes route maps, interactive destination maps, distance in miles, approximate travel time, and written instructions.