We currently have a one month trial of a database of Tezuka Osamu’s Manga. Often called the “Godfather or Manga.” Osamu is perhaps most influential creator of manga in Japan. The database reproduces 122 titles in Japanese; 25 in English, and many translated into other languages (French, Korean, Chinese, etc.). The trial ends 25 April 2024. Please have a look, share with anyone you think might be interested.
The database trial operates through the university’s IP addresses and therefore will not work off campus
Here is the link to access the database: Tezuka Osamu Manga
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Manga by
Provides insight into the most popular and studied manga graphic novels. The manga tradition includes josei manga, which targets a mature female audience, shoujo-ai manga, which focuses on the spiritual, sexual, or emotional aspects of relationships, shonen-ai, manga created by female authors that focuses on homoerotic or homoromantic male relationships, and kodomo manga, created exclusively for a young audience.
Manga: A Critical Guide by
A wide-ranging introductory guide for readers making their first steps into the world of manga, this book helps readers explore the full range of Japanese comic styles, forms and traditions from its earliest texts to the internationally popular comics of the 21st century.
Japanese Visual Culture by
The contributors explore the historical, cultural, sociological, and religious dimensions of manga and anime, and examine specific sub-genres, artists, and stylistics. The book also addresses such topics as spirituality, the use of visual culture by Japanese new religious movements, Japanese Goth, nostalgia and Japanese pop, "cute" (kawali) subculture and comics for girls, and more.
Manga by
Arranged into six broadly chronological, thematic chapters, this book traces the origins of manga, from its beginnings to the present day. Each section opens with an essay, followed by interviews, features and manga selections.
Manga by
An accessible introduction to the development and diversity of Japanese comics from 1945 to the present.
Manga: Masters of the Art by
This attractive volume features profusely illustrated interviews with a diverse group of 12 important manga creators.
Comics and the Origins of Manga by
Comics and the Origins of Manga challenges the conventional wisdom that manga evolved from traditional Japanese art, and reveals how Japanese cartoonists in the 1920s and 1930s instead developed modern manga out of translations of foreign comic strips like Bringing Up Father, Happy Hooligan, and Felix the Cat .
Reframing Disability in Manga by
Reframing Disability in Manga analyzes popular Japanese manga published from the 1990s to the present that portray the everyday lives of adults and children with disabilities in an ableist society...
Boys Love Manga and Beyond by
This collection provides the first comprehensive overview in English of the BL phenomenon in Japan, its history and various subgenres and introduces translations of some key Japanese scholarship not otherwise available. Some chapters detail the historical and cultural contexts that helped BL emerge as a significant part of girls' culture in Japan. Others offer important case studies of BL production, consumption, and circulation and explain why BL has become a controversial topic in contemporary Japan.
Tōjisha Manga by
This book defines tōjisha manga as Japan's autobiographical comics in which the author recounts the experience of a mental or neurological condition in a unique medium of text and image. Yoshiko Okuyama argues that tōjisha manga illuminate otherwise "faceless" individuals and humanize their invisible tribulations because the first-person narrative makes their lived experience more authentic and relatable to the reader.
あたしンち Atashin'chi Official Channel
The Tachibanas are the quintessential Japanese family, unassuming and infinitely relatable.
To Find Books in Japanese:
If you know the author or title you want:
Look up the book in the library catalog using Kanji 漢字, or Kana かな, or Hepburn Romanization.
Click for detailed rules on Romanization
For manga in Japanese, follow this link.
For manga in English, follow this link.
If you have a suggestion for what the library should order, fill out this form. You must have a library account to do so.
The library has a collection of "The Manga Guide to". These manga guides cover a variety of topics from the Universe to Physiology to Databases. They are available in a variety of physical copies and ebooks.
Through Digital Theatre+, Manga adaptations of Shakespeare's plays and other important English works are available. You will need to sign into your BYU account to access content.
Showa 1953-1989 by 
DRAWING manga Learn to draw step by step. by 
Manga Madness by
Capture the excitement of manga in your drawings! Inside you'll find hundreds of dynamic illustrations for achieving the hot, action-packed look you want. Loaded with detail and over 40 step-by-step lessons, you'll learn the skills and tips you need to create amazing characters and scenes.
101 Top Tips from Professional Manga Artists by
"Manga creator Sonia Leong and a group of acclaimed fellow professionals lay bare the expert techniques behind this vibrant art form"--P. [4] of cover.
Manga Matrix by
Manga Matrix presents an easy grid method for mastering manga, an increasingly popular comic style. Using this unique Japanese system, artists can plot and cross-section elements on a matrix diagram to create an infinite number of original characters, creatures, and multiformed beasts.
Draw manga style A beginner's step-by-step guide for drawing anime and manga : 62 lessons : basics, characters, special effects by 