The Oxford Handbook of Japanese Cinema by
The reality of transnational innovation and dissemination of new technologies, including digital media, has yet to make a dent in the deep-seated culturalism that insists on reinscribing a divide between the West and Japan. The Oxford Handbook of Japanese Cinema aims to counter this trend toward dichotomizing the West and Japan and to challenge the pervasive culturalism of today's film and media studies. Featuring twenty essays, each authored by a leading researcher in the field, this volume addresses productive debates about where Japanese cinema is and where Japanese cinema is going at the period of crisis of national boundary under globalization. It reevaluates the position of Japanese cinema within the discipline of cinema and media studies and beyond, and situates Japanese cinema within the broader fields of transnational film history. Likewise, it examines the materiality of Japanese cinema, scrutinizes cinema's relationship to other media, and identifies the specific practices of film production and reception. As a whole, the volume fosters a dialogue between Japanese scholars of Japanese cinema, film scholars of Japanese cinema based in Anglo-American and European countries, film scholars of non-Japanese cinema, film archivists, film critics, and filmmakers familiar with film scholarship. A comprehensive volume that grasps Japanese cinema under the rubric of the global and also fills the gap between Japanese and non-Japanese film studies and between theories and practices, The Oxford Handbook of Japanese Cinema challenges and responds to the major developments underfoot in this rapidly changing field.
Routledge Handbook of Japanese Cinema by
The Routledge Handbook of Japanese Cinema provides a timely and expansive overview of Japanese cinema today, through cutting-edge scholarship that reflects the hybridity of approaches defining the field. The volume's twenty-one chapters represent work by authors with diverse backgrounds and expertise, recasting traditional questions of authorship, genre, and industry in broad conceptual frameworks such as gender, media theory, archive studies, and neoliberalism. The volume is divided into four parts, each representing an emergent area of inquiry: "Decentring Classical Cinema" "Questions of Industry" "Intermedia as an Approach" "The Object Life of Film" This is the first anthology of Japanese cinema scholarship to span the temporal framework of 200 years, from the vibrant magic lantern culture of the nineteenth century, through to the formation of the film industry in the twentieth century, and culminating in cinema's migration to gaming, surveillance video, and other new media platforms of the twenty-first century. This handbook will prove a useful resource to students and scholars of Japanese studies, film studies, and cultural studies more broadly.
Japanese Cinema (4 Vols.) by 
Research Guide to Japanese Film Studies (eBook) by 
The Japanese Cinema Book by 
A Critical Handbook of Japanese Film Directors by 
New History of Japanese Cinema: A Century of Japanese Film by 
A Hundred Years of Japanese Film by 
Midnight Eye Guide to New Japanese Film by 
Renegotiating Film Genres in East Asian Cinemas and Beyond by 
The Japanese Filmography by 
The Yakuza Movie Book: A Guide to Japanese Gangster Films by 
The Anime Encyclopedia, 3rd Revised Edition by Film Quarterly (1945–present)
Film & History: An Interdisciplinary Journal (1971–present)
Film Criticism (1976–present)
Literature/Film Quarterly (1973–present)
Use these databases to locate scholarly articles about Japanese Film. While there may be some overlap in what you discover with your search, keep in mind that each database includes some unique works of academic literature. So, searching more than one database will provide you with different resources. For detailed information about each database, click the relevant "Information Icon" 
.
EBSCO Databases
These databases can be searched at the same time by clicking on the "Choose Databases" link above the search bar. The more databases you add, the more likely you are to find articles, but it can also take longer to load.
ProQuest Databases
Try searching these databases at the same time.
Additional Databases/Resources
Nippon Modern by
'Nippon Modern' is the first intensive study of Japanese cinema in the 1920s and 1930s, a period in which the country's film industry was at its most prolific and a time when cinema played a singular role in shaping Japanese modernity.
The Imperial Screen: Japanese Film Culture in the Fifteen Years War, 1931-1945 by 
From Book to Screen: Modern Japanese Literature in Films by 
Benshi, Japanese Silent Film Narrators: A History of Japanese Silent Film Narration (Setsumei) by Below are influential Japanese Directors and links to resources about them at the library.
| b.1910 d.1998 |
| Genres: Samurai, Gangster, Drama |
| Films directed by Kurosawa |
| Books & Screenplays by Kurosawa |
| Books & Articles on Kurosawa/Works |
| b. 1903 d.1963 |
| Genres: shomin-geki (commoner drama) |
| Films by Ozu |
| Articles & Screenplays by Ozu |
| Books & Articles on Ozu/Works |
| b.1941 |
| Genre: Anime |
| Films directed by Miyazaki |
| Books (Art, Manga, Fiction) by Miyazaki |
| Books & Articles on Miyazaki/Works |
| b.1935 d. 2018 |
| Genres: Anime |
| Films directed by Takahata |
| Books & Articles on Takahata/works |
| b.1962 |
| Genres: Documentary, Drama |
| Films directed by Koreeda |
| Books & Articles on Koreeda/works |
In the library homepage search box, use either the advanced search option or the left sidebar to narrow search results. Results can be narrowed under Subject or Genre/Style. Below are some example searches.
There are viewing stations in the library (ask at a help desk). You can also check out DVD and BlueRay disks.
If you have a suggestion for what the library should order, fill out this form. You must have a library account to do so.
Through HBLL:
Hover over the link to learn more about the resource. Click this link to recommend a title for the library to purchase.
External Streaming Services:
Baker Sentaro's business enjoys new success when his new 76-year-old assistant Tokue shares her recipe for the sweet red bean paste used in the bakery's dorayaki pancakes, but another of Tokue's secrets may bring their happy work life to an early end. Directed by Kawase Naomi PN 1995.97 .J3 J37an 2016
Naomi Kawase, (born May 30, 1969, Nara, Japan), Japanese film director who was the youngest person to win the Caméra d’Or (for best debut feature film) at the Cannes film festival, for Moe no suzaku (1997)... (Britannica)
Misako is a passionate writer of film versions for the visually impaired. At a screening, she meets Nakamori, an older photographer who is slowly losing his eyesight. Misako soon discovers Nakamori’s photographs, which will strangely bring her back to her past. Together, they will learn to see the radiant world that was invisible to her eyes. Directed by Kawase Naomi Stream on Kanopy
Delves into the surreal subconscious with ten madly imaginative, reality-subverting visions that range from wonderfully wacky to nightmarishly unsettling. Miwa Nishikawa directs one of these visions. PN 1995.97 .J3 J37ten 2008
Miwa Nishikawa is a award-winning screenwriter/director from Okayama, Japan. She worked with Koreeda Hirokazu and is often considered as one of his protégés.
Below are different lists and rankings for Japanese Films.
