Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Journal Article Databases
The best way to find journal articles is to search one of the many scholarly databases. Below are listed some of the more relevant databases in plant and wildlife sciences.
Recommended Article Databases
- Web of Science Tutorial
Web of Science compiles articles from over 9,300 scholarly journals in all science disciplines. Users can easily find article references and other publications citing a particular work.
- Agricola (EBSCO) Tutorial
AGRICOLA is an agricultural sciences database that contains records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Over 2,000 journals and publication series are indexed from 1979 to the present.
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies Tutorial
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
- Embase Tutorial
Embase covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus.
- Scopus Tutorial
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Zoological Record Tutorial
Zoological Record (1864+) indexes worldwide coverage of zoological literature, with particular emphasis on systematics, taxonomic and related information.
- Biotechnology Research Abstracts (ProQuest) Tutorial
Covers agricultural products involving both plants and animals, new applications across the food industry, and wide-ranging environmental developments.
- Ecology Abstracts (ProQuest) Tutorial
Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science (ProQuest) Tutorial
A collection of several bibliographic databases for environmental sciences. Includes Conference Papers Index, Toxicology Abstracts, TOXLINE, Environmental Impact Statements: Digests, Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality, Ecology Abstracts, and Water Resources. Updated monthly.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO) Tutorial
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- JSTOR Global Plants
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
- MEDLINE (PubMed) Tutorial
MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes over 4700 medical journals and publication, including veterinary medicine.PubMed is the public version of MEDLINE. It is updated daily and has a good search algorithm.
Additional Article Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) Tutorial
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
- BioOne Tutorial
A Biological Sciences database. This database includes major research journals in the biological sciences. Full-text articles available for nearly 70 peer reviewed journals. Coverage is from 1998 to the present.
- GeoBase Tutorial
GeoBase is a multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography. The database covers approximately 2,000 international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade publications.
MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes over 4700 medical journals and publication, including veterinary medicine. The EBSCO version of MEDLINE is updated monthly.
- Nutrition and Food Sciences Tutorial
Nutrition and Food Sciences gives unique access to the nutrition, food science and food technology literature totaling more than half a million records from 1973 to the present.
Turfgrass Information File (TGIF) Tutorial
TGIF houses the most comprehensive publicly-available collection of turfgrass research and educational materials in the world. TGIF contains more than a quarter million records, with over 60% of those records linking the user directly to the full-text of the item.
Have a Question? Get Help Here
Journal Evaluation Tools
Includes information of all kinds about periodical publications. On the journal page, look for the "refereed" line. If it says yes, then the journal is peer reviewed.
Journal Citation Reports
Includes impact factors and other statistical measures for over 7,000 journals in science and the social sciences.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR)
Journals can be grouped by subject area, subject category, or by country. Citation data is drawn from over 21,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and country performance metrics from 239 countries worldwide.
Search for books, articles, or other materials available in the library.