Subject Guides: Music 203 & 307: World Music / Ethnomusicology: India

Resources

ML 5 .S75 -- Sruti: periodical about music in India (available from 2006 to present) 2013 to present available through International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window IBTD is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Full text access is available to over 490 titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books and monographs.

Collections

Music scores, CDs and DVDs:

M 1808 through M 1809.2

Music literature:

ML 338 - ML 338.9 (History)

ML 3748 (National music)

Reference Works

The Penguin Dictionary of Indian Classical Music by Raghava R. Menon
Call Number: ML 101 .I5 M46 1995 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780140513240
A garland : a biographical dictionary of Carnatic composers and musicians by N. Rajagopalan
Call Number: ML 385 .R34 G37 1990 vol.3 (Reference Collection)

Featured Books

Music in South India: The Karnatak Concert Tradition and Beyond by T. Viswanathan and Matthew Harp Allen Music in South India provides a vivid and focused introduction to the musical environment of South India, discussing historical and contemporary performance, cultural history and geography, and the social organization of performance traditions.
Call Number: ML 338 .V57 M87 2004 (Music Library stacks)
Desi Rap: Hip-Hop and South Asian America by Ajay Nair and Murali Balaji, eds.
Call Number: ML 3918 .R37 D47 2008 (Music Library stacks)
Music in India by Bonnie C. Wade
Call Number: ML 338 .W32 (Music Library stacks)
ISBN: 8173043957
Publication Date: 2001-01-01