Subject Guides: Biological Science Education: Publishing Resources

Your Librarian

Contact:

michael_goates@byu.edu
2324 HBLL

(801) 422-6012

Subjects: Geology, Life Sciences

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Use Ulrichsweb to identify and learn about journals to publish in. Includes where the journal is indexed and whether it is peer reviewed.

Think Check Submit
This international initiative will help you identify trusted journals for your research.
Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)
Enter your title/abstract or keywords to JANE to identify possible journals to publish in.
SpringerNature Journal Suggester
Recommends journals based on title/abstract matching. Limited to journals published by Springer Nature
Elsevier Journal Finder
Elsevier JournalFinder identifies potential journals based on title/abstract matching. Limited to Elsevier journals.
Edanz Journal Selector
Edanz allows researchers to enter a description or abstract to identify potential publishing venues. It searches more than 28,000 international journals.
Journal Guide
Journal Guide will suggest journals to publish in and provide aggregated data about those journals.
Cofactor Journal Selector
Cofactor is a publishing advising, editing company. This tool includes multiple useful filters.
Wiley Journal Finder
Title/abstract matching service specifically for Wiley journals.

Beall's List
This version is maintained by a postdoctoral researcher in Europe, and provides both the original Beall's list and an update.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ contains over 16,500 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. DOAJ's mission is to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language.
Sherpa Romeo
Sherpa Romeo is an online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis.
Open Access Scholarly Publishing Association
OASPA works to encourage and enable open access as the predominant model of communication for scholarly outputs.
Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE)
COPE is committed to educating and supporting editors, publishers and those involved in publication ethics with the aim of moving the culture of publishing towards one where ethical practices become a normal part of the publishing culture.

Systematic Review Guide
If you're considering conducting a systematic review, take a look at this HBLL guide.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Includes impact factors and other statistical measures for over 7,000 journals in science and the social sciences.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR) This link opens in a new window
Journals can be grouped by subject area, subject category, or by country. Citation data is drawn from over 21,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and country performance metrics from 239 countries worldwide.
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Covers over 20,000 journals in health science, social science, arts and humanities, life science, and physical science, back to 1995. Includes citation rates for individual articles and CiteScore metrics for journals.

Hours:

Mon - Thurs: 8 am - 9 pm

Fri: 8 am - 6 pm

Sat: 10 am - 6 pm

Website

(801) 422-2987

science_reference@byu.edu