Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature (1978) - Humanities Reference PQ 6006 .O95
Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Literature in English (1996) - Humanities Reference PR 471 .O94 1996
Reference Books Guides
Guide to Reference Books, Balay (11th edition 1996)– Humanities Reference Z 1035.1 G89 1996
Walford’s Guide to Reference Materials (1993) – Humanities Reference Z 1035.1 .S43 1993
Biographies & Bio-Bibliographies
Literature Resource Center (LRC)(Gale)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to biographies, bibliographies, critical analysis, and Web resources of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes.
Contemporary AuthorsThis link opens in a new windowProvides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
Dictionary of Literary Biography - Humanities Reference PN 451 .A6
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)This link opens in a new windowOxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) contains 55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2002.
World Biographical Information System (WBIS) OnlineThis link opens in a new windowWorld Biographical Information System Online is the most comprehensive biographical database available, providing short biographical information on 4 million people with a historical coverage from the 4th century BC to the present. It contains 3.85 million digital facsimile articles from more than 3,700 reference works, including biographical information on 2.3 million people worldwide. Access to the digitized full-text articles at BYU is limited at present to America, Great Britain, France, Germany, Italy, Benelux countries (Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg), and Scandinavia.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThe OED Online contains the complete searchable text of over half a million words from the 20 volume 2nd Edition. The dictionary traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations, offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciations. 1000 new and revised entries added quarterly. NOTE: The reference to the hard copy of the Oxford English Dictionary is HUM REF PE 1625 .O87
Oxford Dictionary of Literary TermsProvides clear, concise, and often witty definitions of the most troublesome literary terms from abjection to zeugma. Now available in a new, fully updated and expanded edition, it offers readers increased coverage of new terms from modern critical and theoretical movements, such as feminism, and schools of American poetry, Spanish verse forms, life writing, and crime fiction.
Oxford Language Dictionaries OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO) features fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages. Offering over 4 million words, phrases and translations in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. OLDO also features native speaker audio pronunciation - allowing you to hear how words actually sound. More than just a dictionary, OLDO offers a complete suite of language learning support materials for users of all levels: click-through verb tables and pronunciation charts, explanations of grammatical terms, hundreds sample letters, CVs and resumes, notes on life and culture, guidance on grammar and idiomatic usage, extensive links to other sites for further research, and more.
