Print Dance Journals and Magazines
The journals and magazines listed below are available ONLY in print. Click on the periodical's title to link to information about the extent of the HBLL's holdings. Use the call number to locate the periodical in Music & Dance. Current issues may be found in the Music & Dance Reading Room (map). Back issues are bound together and can be found in the Music & Dance stacks (map).
-
American Square Dance: The International Magazine of Square Dancing
American Square Dance is a quarterly magazine devoted to news, events, and reports about dancers and callers in the square dance world.
Call Number: MD 1580 .A54 -
Balet
Russian-language ballet magazine focusing on scientific and theoretical writings on ballet dance, coupled with lush illustrations.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B22 -
Ballet Review
Ballet Review is a non-profit journal published by the Dance Research Foundation, Inc. It publishes articles reporting on historical dance studies, as well as stories about performers, choreographers, and dance companies.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B27 -
Ballet2000
Ballet 2000 is a triligual (French, Italian, English) magazine covering ballet and contemporary dance in Europe. Includes, news, critical reviews, and stories about performers, choreographers, and dance companies.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B46 -
BYU Dance Journal
The BYU Dance Journal, an annual journal that publishes papers on dance or dance-related issues in the form of essays, academic papers, art, non-fiction, fiction, and poetry.
Call Number: MD 1580 .B74x -
Dance Beat
Dance Beat Inc. was established in 1989 as a monthly dancesport newspaper. We report on all aspects of competitive dance in North America and major events worldwide. Issues include competition reviews, current events, industry press releases, helpful technical tips, interviews, costume fashion trends, regular columns, action photography, information on upcoming competitions and dance merchandise suppliers. We also print a current listing of professional dancers with their qualifications.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D2325 Quarto -
Dance: Current Selected Research
An international scholarly journal dedicated to dance education, with explorations into interdisciplinary studies between dance and other arts disciplines.
Call Number: MD 1582 .D35 -
Dance Europe
Dance Europe magazine was founded in 1995 and is published 11 times per year in London. The digital version was available from January 2009 and the Spanish language version - Danza Europa was launched in October 2009. The editorial policy aims to provide an informed medium for the dance profession and its audiences. Many of the contributors are professional dancers or ex-dancers.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D237 -
Dance Dynamic
Our well established popular glossy colour monthly magazine covers all forms of dance. With everything of interest for the dancing world. Dance Dynamic appeals to all ages - readers include: dance and musical theatre audiences, group bookers, dancers, students, teachers, retailers. With a bright, fresh modern outlook, monthly we are packed with features. We cover theatrical + social dance events of all kinds worldwide with advance information, free gifts, previews, photographs, profiles of leading dance personalities, listings, reviews and much more....written and designed by experts.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D238 -
Dance International Magazine
Dance International Magazine focuses on classical and contemporary dance worldwide. In continuous publication for over 30 years, this quarterly dance magazine reflects the need for dance coverage without borders. With features on dancers, artistic directors, choreographers and photographers, critical commentaries, and reviews from all over the world, we celebrate the beauty of dance with each issue.
Call Number: MD 1580 .V3 -
DanceSport Magazine
DanceSport Magazine is a quarterly, full-color publication dedicated to competitive partner dancing. Each issue of DanceSport Magazine is filled with informative articles about competitive ballroom dancing.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D3553 -
Dance Theatre Journal
Dance Theatre Journal is the UK's leading magazine for dance and live art. Published four times a year, Dance Theatre Journal contains reviews, features, interviews and in-depth discussions by leading dance writers and artists, as well as talented new writers. It also includes up-to-date listings of dance performances and workshops throughout the UK. Dance Theatre Journal is essential reading for anyone who wishes to stay up-to-date with current thinking in dance and the related arts.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D356 -
Danser
DANCING is a French-language monthly general dance magazine which deals with all forms of dance. The magazine began in 1983, and covers ballet and contemporary dance, tango, jazz, and other world dances. This magazine will appeal to everyone, regardless of preferred choreographic expression.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D397 -
Discourses in Dance
Discourses in Dance is an international, peer-reviewed, bi-annual journal covering research in the field of dance and related areas. The Journal aims to promote the development of dance research in the international academic field. Articles address the rapidly expanding discipline of dance studies as it is developing through scholarly and artistic forms of dance research. The journal encourages the testing of new methodologies against existing paradigms and the examining of dance in relation to critical theories, cultural studies, and cognate disciplines.
Call Number: MD 1580 .D58 -
Irish Dancing & Culture Magazine (IDM)
Take out a subscription to Irish Dancing & Culture International Magazine, which is the hottest monthly magazine for Irish dancers and enthusiasts. Each issue of a subscription to Irish Dancing & Culture International magazine includes interviews with Irish dancing stars, features on how to improve your dancing, tips on the best warm ups, fashion and beauty advice and much more! With each issue of a subscription, Irish Dancing & Culture International Magazine comes up with tips on the best warm ups, fitness and tips to improve your dancing. There are also a mix of features covering dance types, shoes, costumes and much more.
Call Number: MD 1580 .I75 -
Movement, Dance and Drama: Quarterly Magazine of the Laban Guild
This quarterly magazine of the Laban Guild features articles on the application of Laban analysis to many areas of the Arts, life and work.
Call Number: MD 1580 .L22 -
Movement Research Performance Journal (MRPJ)
Started in 1990, the Performance Journal is a printed forum created by and for artists, fostering the evolution of written and graphic languages that contemplate current issues of dance and performance. Published twice annually, the Performance Journal provides a unique forum for critical rigor and a multi-disciplinary readership. Writings are specifically linked to events, artists, trends, and ideas associated with the current and upcoming performance season in New York, as well as nationally and internationally. The Performance Journal has focused on artists' of-the-moment concerns, with past topics including gender, environments, identity, technology, activism, dance writing and, most recently, an exploration of how contemporary dance negotiates with the larger culture, via a magazine format.
Call Number: MD 1580 .M68 Quarto -
The Northwest Folkdancer
Northwest Folk Dancers, Inc. publishes a monthly magazine, The Northwest Folkdancer, containing articles and advertisements of interest to the folk dance community. One of the most popular features of The Northwest Folkdancer magazine is the listings of regular dances and classes and a separate comprehensive calendar of special events. The magazine also contains club news, ethnic recipes, dance descriptions, CD reviews, and other information helpful for dancers, teachers of folk dance, and anyone interested in the food, dances, costumes, and history of other cultures.
Call Number: MD 1580 .N67 -
Tanz: Zeitshrift für Ballett, Tanz und Performance Tanz is the European magazine for ballet, dance and performance. It features the most important premieres and festivals, reports from the dance capitals of the world, writes portraits dancers, choreographers and teachers, discovers young talent in the dance scene, reports on the best schools and methods, and provides information about upcoming auditions, workshops and conferences.
Call Number: MD 1580 .T36