Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
These resources are available in the Music and Dance Library Reading Room (north end of HBLL 4th floor).
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by With over 2,500 entries covering all aspects of dance, this unique dictionary is the only one of its kind available. It is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of dance in paperback, ranging from classical ballet to the cutting edge of modern dance. It provides all the information necessary for dance fans to navigate the current diverse dance scene.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1585 .C72 2010
Publication Date: 2010-09-10
International Dictionary of Ballet by More than 750 entries make up this comprehensive review of the various elements of the world of ballet. The dictionary is both historical and international in scope. It covers the ballet world from its beginnings in Renaissance Europe to its present-day manifestations in countries as diverse as Cuba and China. There is, however, an emphasis on ballet in Russia, Europe, and North America, areas where it developed and flourished.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1585 .I57 1993
International Dictionary of Modern Dance by The dictionary provides information on dancers, choreographers, teachers, companies, designers, writers on dance, national overviews, and selected important dances. The Western world is emphasized, but coverage is global.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1585 .I54 1998
International Encyclopedia of Dance by With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1585 .I58 1998
Dictionnaire de la danse by La danse en Occident, de la Renaissance au XXe siècle En 4 000 entrées, ce dictionnaire rend compte de la diversité de l’aventure chorégraphique et fait une large place à la danse baroque et classique, ainsi qu’à la danse contemporaine et au modern jazz. Il prend également en compte la dimension cinématographique de la danse. Ce dictionnaire est composé de trois parties : - Le monde de la danse (chorégraphes, interprètes, compositeurs, librettistes, décorateurs, peintres et plasticiens, auteurs de traités, pédagogues, institutions et compagnies, réalisateurs de cinéma…) ; - Les œuvres chorégraphiques (à la scène et à l’écran) ; - Les mots de la danse (concepts esthétiques, danses de société, genres chorégraphiques, styles et courants, notations du mouvement, termes de métier…).
Call Number: MUS REF Quarto MD 1585 .D512 L4 1999
Index to Dance Periodicals by Annual index by subject to journal articles on dance published 1990-2001.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1582 .I53
Dancers and Choreographers : A Selected Bibliography by Getz's illustrated bibliography lists English-language works about dancers and choreographers. It focuses on ballet and modern dance and includes primarily citations for academic and scholarly journals.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1785 .X1 G47 1995
Fifty Contemporary Choreographers by Covering today's most important modern, ballet, contemporary and post-modern choreographers in Europe and North America, this unique guide is a valuable quick reference for students and critics, dancers and general readers in love with dance. Each entry includes a biographical section, a chronological list of works, a detailed bibliography and a critical essay. In entries on choreographers such as Richard Alston, Pina Bausch, Laurie Booth, Christopher Bruce, Jonathan Burrows, Michael Clarke, Merce Cunningham, Anna Theresa De Keersmaeker, Eiko and Koma, William Forsythe, Jiri Kylain, Mark Morris, Twyla Tharp and other leading figures, readers can easily locate each choreographer's style and influence within the development of contemporary theatre dance, and swiftly discern the essential facts in his or her career.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1785 .A1 B73 1999
Film Choreographers and Dance Directors : An Illustrated Biographical Encyclopedia with a History and Filmographies, 1893 through 1995 by This is a comprehensive reference work to 970 choreographers who worked in nearly 3,500 films. For each, there is a biography providing date and place of birth (and death when appropriate), a description of their choreographic style and a listing of their stage, television, music video, nightclub and concert credits. This is followed by a listing of the movies they choreographed. A decade-by-decade history of dance on film and a filmography of choreographically important works in each decade are included.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1779 .B54 1996
Dance on Camera: A Guide to Dance Films and Videos by Dance on Camera, the most comprehensive resource available on dance films and videos in current distribution in the United States, is an essential tool for any dance and/or film reference collection. Following a foreword by Jacques d'Amboise, former principal dancer and choreographer for the New York City Ballet, are five essays by recognized authorities in the field, and ten exhaustive indexes.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1595 .D356 1998
Dance Research Guide and Catalog
Research in Dance: A Guide to Resources by A reference to dance information in both electronic and print form, covering all forms of dance as well as activities that include teaching, writing reviews and essays, or conducting studies in dance kinesiology. All types of sources are cited, including encyclopedias, film and video catalogs, manuals, indexes, serial publications, and sources for book and performance reviews. The focus is on English-language sources.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1594 .X1 B65 1994
This research guide is a great first step for research into many dance sub disciplines. It will provide you with citations to other important resources for a large variety of topics.
G.K. Hall Bibliographic Guide to Dance by Latest issue 2001. Issued in two vols. per year. The G.K. Hall Bibliographic Guide to Dance is a comprehensive annual subject bibliography representing items cataloged by the Dance Division of The New York Public Library. This publication is also available as part of the CD-ROM: Dance on disc. Issued as 25th- supplement to: New York Public Library. Dance Collection. Dictionary catalog of the Dance Collection.
Call Number: MUS REF MD 1594 .X1 N482